With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Wanted, one web-savvy person, willing to work for free. No takers? Oh well...

2009-03-26 - 10:14 a.m.

Big news is a comin�, but I don�t want to jinx it with any premature announcements so you�ll just have to wait for it. And nope, it�s probably not what you�re thinking (not pregnant, house not sold, haven�t heard back from Art in the Park yet � they�re making decisions in April). I know. I�m such a tease.

::

This week I�m going to start trying to figure out how to piece together my website. I need a splash page with links to a gallery, my Etsy shop, and to contact me. I might put in a link to a blog there as well, but not yet since learning WordPress is lower on my to-do list than the other stuff. First I have to figure out how to do this splash page and, oh yes, how to actually put in the gallery that will be linked to. There�s software that�s free with my host that is designed for this bit, but I haven�t downloaded it yet so I�m starting at the very beginning of the learning curve. I may just put up the page with an �under construction� tag on the gallery link and not have it go anywhere yet, but at least I�d have something up, y�know?

Anyone want to walk me through this process? Anyone?� one?� one?*

::

Wouldn�t you know it? Today is the first day in a week that Grommet�s not been home (her daycare provider was sick, then she was) and Biscuit has decided to nap without being ensconced on my lap this morning. While I�d normally doing a �hallelujah�, Thursday is the day of the BEST playgroup and so I�m torn between actually doing useful stuff (like writing this, or doing the aforementioned web stuff) and waking his little butt up and cramming him into his carseat. Mama�s got a yen for some adult interaction. I�ve been kind of bored and lonely while J�s been at work lately. My usual fix for feeling isolated is to get together with a friend of mine and her baby, but they�ve been sick for a couple of weeks now. I feel bad for J since he�s got his own work to do and doesn�t need to feel like he has to somehow entertain me or keep me company, but at the same time, well, I want to be entertained or kept company, y�know?

::

The last part of Pamela�s comment on my last post - �It's awful to say, but the only way I could imagine wanting another is if something terrible were to happen for #1 or #2.� � struck a real chord with me.

I haven�t wanted to voice it for fear of a) tempting fate, and b) sounding really strange and/or creepy, but that�s exactly what I�ve thought. When I was pregnant with Biscuit, and people were asking if we�d have any more after this one, I wanted to say, �only if something happens to one of the two we�ve got� and when the topic of a permanent method of birth control came up, I was very hesitant because, well, frankly, I wanted to make sure these two were well out of danger of SIDS and on their way to growing up as healthy kids before making that decision. I would not have had a tubal ligation during my second c-section for this very reason. It wasn�t because I wanted more kids (though I�m only about 95% resolved on that issue, as you read in my last post), it was because I didn�t really want fewer than the two I�d had.

Is this creepy? Am I thumbing my nose at fate by even writing about it? Are Pamela and I the only ones that think like this?

_____________________
* That was an echo.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland