With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Pukefest of oh-six.

2006-11-28 - 9:25 p.m.

We had a horf-tastic morning in the Talpidae household: Grommet woke up vomiting at 6:00 am and had racked up an even dozen episodes by the time about three hours had gone by. Envisioning a full day of dealing with upchuck every twenty minutes, I called J and asked him to come home from work earlier than he was planning. Of course, after he got home Grommet only had one more spectacular spew and then a small one, then she was done.

�Round about hour two, I called the doctor to see if I should bring Grommet in, but she told me that there was a virus going around so for today I should just keep the Grom�s fluids up by giving small amounts of liquid frequently. Breast milk and water would be fine, but if I could get my hands on some sort of infant electrolyte supplement that would be even better. So, that�s what we did and thank goodness the pukefest was short lived.

This did, however, prompt a mention by J that if she had continued to vomit as frequently as she did at the beginning of the day, he�d have taken her to emergency in the afternoon. I was mildly surprised since I had already called the doctor, who�d offered to see her tomorrow or even today if I felt it was warranted, and I�d already made the decision to wait and see what happened. Grommet wasn�t acting sick or out of sorts in between bouts, and she didn�t have a fever. I kind of felt I�d done my due diligence by calling the doctor and if Grommet had taken a turn for the worse � that is, if she�d gotten feverish, listless, or obviously felt sick overall � I was completely prepared to take her in to be seen by my doctor. Had she just stayed the same, however, I probably would have dealt with the mess and made an appointment to see the doctor tomorrow.

It�s a fine line, for me, what�s conscientious taking care of the Grom, and what might be going overboard. On the one hand, I don�t want to be like my mother in this respect: she didn�t really take us to the doctor unless there was something very, very wrong for quite awhile. I remember the one and only time I went to the hospital as a child; I had had the stomach flu for about a week and had been vomiting almost hourly the entire time. I was sucking ice to try to stay hydrated and still vomiting constantly. In my mind, that�s waiting too long to seek medical assistance for your child. On the other hand, I don�t want to one of those mothers that heads to emergency for every sniffle. That�s why I�m glad I have a doctor that will call me at home and suggest whether it would be necessary to go in or not. If she thinks emergency is warranted, she�d suggest it. If she thinks it�s likely a virus and there�s not much to be done at that point, she�s willing to have me bring Grommet in, but will warn me there�s not a lot she�d be able to do.

I�d like to think J and I are on the exact same sentence of the exact same page for everything parenting related, but I know that�d be unrealistic. In this case though, unless Grommet had started to show signs of dehydration � no tears, spit, or pee � and I thought she might need medical intervention like an IV (very unlikely within a day since a neighbour child had had something like this for four days and he still wasn�t bad enough off to get an IV when he was seen at the hospital), I�d probably be advocating for following my doctor�s advice and not dashing off to the hospital. Still, I�d say that J and I are at least in the same chapter, and sometimes that�s good enough.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland