With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

My cups, they do not runneth over.

2005-07-13 - 5:43 p.m.

I believe I may have mentioned this before (but I�m not having any luck searching for it and I�m too lazy to persevere), but I�ve always felt kind of ambivalent about my breasts. Pre-puberty I was dreading growing breasts, knowing their advent would mark the end of my freedom to run around outside in just a pair of shorts. (It was the seventies, we lived in the country, and my mom was kind of a hippy so yes, it was perfectly appropriate to be running around topless, even for a female child.)

Add to that the fact that they�ve always just kind of seemed stuck on as an afterthought to me. My ever-tactful grandmother used to describe me as �barrel-chested� and I�m afraid she was not being just unusually cruel; I don�t really taper in at the waist much, or, if you look at it the other way, flare out at the hips and ribcage. I did NOT look cute in those typical little sundresses that other little girls wore � the kind where the top is a scrunchy elasticized tube and the bottom flares prettily out from there? Even as an adult I bulge at the armpits when I�m in anything that squeezes me around the chest, like a tube-top or a gym bra. I�m not saying I�m hideously deformed or anything, just that articles of clothing like that don�t produce a flattering look for me. So, on this relatively tubular torso of mine, breasts look kind of, well, wrong to me.

It doesn�t help that I�ve really only got one good one, as far as I�m concerned. While my husband is more than happy with my rack, my more critical eye easily makes out an imbalance of form between the two sides. While I do have a penchant for skinny-dipping and I routinely disrobe in the gym locker room, it�s not like I care that much about what anyone other than J thinks. Still, it would be nice to have a bit more in the balcony, no matter how content I am with the basement.

Where did this line of thought come from you ask? Most books and sites I�ve read that go into changes to expect in pregnancy mention the fact that I could look forward to increased boobage. Many of them cite times far earlier than now as when I should be noticing this particular change. By week 8, one book counseled, I should probably be shopping for some new bras to provide me adequate support lest I gasp end up sagging after Grommet is weaned.* Well it�s week 10 baby, and my bras still fit fine and the nipples? Have not darkened either. I confess that I�d always been hoping that my B-cub boobs would both fill out and even out during pregnancy and so far? Hasn�t happened.

Maybe it�ll be a sudden thing, like Robin Williams said at the Met, �in one night [I�ll] go from zero to Aida.� Maybe I�d better be careful what I wish for.


*I�ve got news for the authors of that antiquated 80s book: from all accounts, the boob-sagging is inevitable after pregnancy and breastfeeding, no matter how industrial-strength your support is during the process. This is the same book that said not to become a �pregnancy bore� by bothering your husband with the topic too much. *snort*

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland