With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Week 11? Smooooth(y).

2005-07-18 - 3:39 p.m.

Tomorrow marks week 11. That�s WEEK ELEVEN folks! I know every week that goes by now I�ll be just as amazed that it�s a week further than the week before but I can�t help but be building up a bit of anticipation these days. This week is the last week of the first trimester. This week we�ll be meeting a midwife for the first time to decide if she�s the one into whose hands we want to put our son�s (!) or daughter�s (!) entry into the world. (Wow, I�m almost tearing up and freaking out just writing that.)

NEXT week, we get the first ultrasound and there will be proof that my slowly-expanding waistline isn�t just a result of all the eating I�ve been doing for a theoretical Grommet. Even though I�ve tried to be vigilant to eat healthy food and keep the junk down to a minimum, I�m still eating a lot more volume than I usually do and I�m sure that even the calories from a lot of fruit add up at the end of the day.

And of course, we�ll also get a chance to find out whether we should be expecting sons or daughters, or one of each (remember, 10% chance because of the Clomid), in which case, we�d better find an obstetrician tout de suite �cause we can�t have a midwife for our primary caregiver if we�re expecting multiples.

Guess what I did this weekend? It�s not a stretch to guess, though I suppose it is literally a stretch (har, har). I bought some magic pants at a second-hand maternity shop. They�re cute and stylin� and don�t look at all like maternity pants, yet they are stretchy and comfy and perfectly appropriate for the office. The waistband has a wide hidden band of stretchy elastic and I won�t be all pinched in them by the end of the day. They don�t even have a zipper or anything, they stretch easily over the hips to be pulled up. And they�re low-rise so I�m betting I can go on wearing them and they�ll stretch with me for months yet! Woot! Of course, I thought my current summer office wardrobe would see me through to the end of August. I must have been on something to think that I would remain roughly the same size through 17 weeks � that�s FOUR MONTHS � of pregnancy. I figured I�d worn my pants through a period of time when I weighed about 8 pounds more and so why wouldn�t I be able to wear them through the first 8 pounds or so of weight gain? What I forgot to take into account was that the distribution of weight gain is entirely different in pregnancy than when I�ve had a few too many plates of nachos.

Mmmm�. nachos.

Uh, where was I? Oh yes, weight gain during pregnancy. I�m happy to report that the need to eat more fruits and veggies has sparked the re-discovery of smoothies in our household and they are yummy. My favourite so far is a banana, frozen strawberries, and half a small tub of low-fat yogurt whirled with calcium-enriched orange juice. I figure it adds up to maybe two fruit servings and a full calcium serving which includes half a dairy serving. With one of those wand-type blenders the whole prep and clean-up takes mere minutes and I can decant it into a wide-mouthed container to take with me on my way to work. Why haven�t I been making these things for years? More to the point, why have I been paying five bucks a pop for something similar at Booster Juice for so long? This is one thrifty, yummy, and nutritious habit I hope to carry over past the end of the pregnancy.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland