With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Jeez, isn't that always the way?

2004-06-10 - 11:55 a.m.

Every week I teach my class and every week I�ve been consistently getting 25-30 participants. Last night when I had my annual review? 12 people showed up. 12 quiet people.

And the sound system balked at letting me put my CDs in.

And I got some wicked feedback on the mic towards the end of class.

I told my coordinator that she should have been there last week, that we�d had lots more people and the class was really fired up and having a good time. She said that everyone says that.

Anyway, the subtext of the official review was that I was very good with technical stuff but that I�m kind of boring (my words, not hers); I need to work on making my class more fun and exciting and I need to modulate my voice more. It was very frustrating because generally my classes really, honestly, are more fun than the one last night. I could tell it was off and there wasn�t anything I seemed to be able to do to hit the groove.

It probably wasn�t helped that this particular person makes me a bit edgy as we�ve had a personality conflict in the past. (Ok, maybe more than one.) I also have to get over the feeling of sort of sneaking my way into being a fitness instructor; of being the only unathletic, former-chunky-kid, among life-long sporty powerhouses. I know that I�ve passed the same certifications as they have � I even know that some of them started off as members just like I did, and at least two of them even used to be obese (which I never was) before getting into fitness � I just can�t help feel like I�m on that show where they train a total novice then put them into a situation where they�re up against pros.

[sigh]

I only hope that she randomly pops into another class sometime and sees the fun we have.

Really.

On the plus side, I did get my performance raise and finally, finally, finally got onto the regular pay scale. I�ve been getting the probationary pay level since I started over a year and a half ago and they�re supposed to come and review you and put you on regular pay after 3 months. No back pay but hey, a raise and an extra class a week on this schedule? I can live with that.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland