With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Good thing she doesn't know about this site or the cat would be out of the bag.

2004-04-02 - 9:19 a.m.

I know, I know, I missed yesterday without forewarning you. Uh, April Fool! (Yeah, that was it.) The truth is, I now have a cold and had a massive report to edit at work so I was kept busy all day yesterday. I stayed an extra three hours to finish that puppy up, just in case I was too sick to come in today. Waking up this morning though I decided that, as colds go, this is a fairly mild one, hence my presence at work bright and early today. I�m going to take those three hours back at the end of today though � tomorrow afternoon I�m hosting a baby shower for my sister in-law and can use the extra running-around time.

Arrangements have been made to get the unsuspecting victim guest of honour there, the menu has been approved by her husband, I�ve ordered dishes and linen and petit fours, and several people are bringing various accoutrements. I still have to go shopping for the food, pick up the petit fours, pick up the rental items, make the wee sandwiches (it�s a tea-time shower), etc. In the end it�ll probably end up costing me upwards of $150 (plus more than that for the gift we got her) but it�ll be nice and I want to do it properly. This will be my first niece or nephew after all.

If a relative should ever discover this page, I don�t mean to sound critical, but I am stating a fact when I say that two of J�s cousins never responded one way or the other to my invitation. Listen to me when I say people should respond to invitations. I have never been so conscious of this as I have this past year, when I got married and had to hunt a few people down to get them to give me an answer. I too have sinned in the past and not really understood the importance of letting the host/hostess know by the deadline whether or not I planned to attend. After this past summer I have learned my lesson and mended my ways. I vow to always respond on time to any future invitations I get, and to make sure I get an adequate gift for the occasion.

Guess what? I got me some linkin� love! Sparkler (a link to whom is permanently on my �Older� page) linked to me on her links page. I�m so tickled! Ah sweet, sweet external validation.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland