With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

One month already?

2008-07-05 - 1:21 p.m.

Biscuit quietly turned one month old earlier this week. He�s probably a bit more than 10 pounds now, so he�s tacked about 40% more onto his original body weight, and is visibly chubbing up quite nicely. He�s always been good at holding up his head, right from day one, but he�s managing it for longer and longer. He�s also awake for longer periods of time every day, not that he�s not still sleeping for the vast majority of the day.

Unfortunately, he�s also got a touch of baby acne these days (I�ll have to learn how to get rid of that in his pics � I love digital!), but from what I�ve read it should resolve itself in a week or two. I cannot wait until his first deliberate smile; the previews we�ve gotten, courtesy of the gas bubbles going through his system, have been just heart-melting.

Overall, he�s a good baby and does what babies are expected to do: he eats every couple of hours, poops and pees often, cries and fusses sometimes, and sleeps a lot.

---------------------------

For those wondering about the abdominal pain I mentioned in the last entry, the doctor checked it out and told me that it�s right where the stitches are knotted on my fascia layer (the layer that�s under the skin and fat) and that the stitches take longer to dissolve on the interior layers. All I can do is not overdo it and wait for it to resolve itself. Taking pain meds isn�t the answer, because all that would do is mask the pain. In other words, I wouldn�t have that built-in warning that I was doing too much, and would take longer to heal.

I�ve also been told that I�m not supposed to use tampons, because even though I had a c-section birth, the cervix is altered enough that tampon use increases the risk of infection where the placenta had attached inside the uterus. Do you know why this sucks? Let me give you a hint: 30 degrees Celsius predicted for tomorrow and I have a beautiful pool in my backyard.

Bah. I may not entirely heed this particular piece of medical advice.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland