With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Party, party, party.

2008-07-02 - 9:09 p.m.


My c-section was now just over 4 weeks ago and at this point I should be well on the road to recovery, yes? So why does my lower abdomen hurt more now than it did last week? Why do I feel a burning sting near the surface just inside my right hip bone, which isn�t even where my incision is but, rather, higher and further to the outside? Why do I have to once again fear sneezing, since it feels like my belly is going to burst at that spot?

Is this normal? Have I been overdoing it? I don�t think I have been since I feel, in truth, like I�ve not really done anything at all, to the point of being really, really bored a lot of the time. Fearing that it�s only going to get worse, I�ve left a message with my doctor to see if I need to be seen, but she hasn�t called me back and in an hour I�m going out of the house for the rest of the day (escape!).

-----------------------------------

I didn�t get this finished before I had to go. I�ve now gone to and returned from the birthday party I mentioned in my last entry. This was a child turning 1 year old. They had two types invitations made: one for the people invited to this party, one for the second full-fledged party they�re having in their hometown on the weekend with all the friends they�ve made there. They had loot bags personalized for each child who attended. They had a hat for the birthday girl that was shaped like a cake with a little candle thing on it�s crown, emblazoned with �First Birthday!� Are you kidding me?

Our Canada Day party went well � better than I�d anticipated, truth be told. We had a good number of people show up, some of them actually went swimming and a few even brought food contributions. We even got a couple of gifts for the Biscuit and one for the house. We had a lot of pasta salad and potato salad left over, but we didn�t have a ridiculous amount of leftovers.

Best of all, we got to see a lot of people we really like but haven�t been able to see much since becoming parents. It�s not that these people don�t have kids � though they don�t � it�s just that we started operating on very, very different schedules once Grommet was born. We couldn�t easily accept invitations to go out to a loud bar for dinner at 7:00 pm when her bedtime was 7:30, and we just don�t have the kind of parents who babysit their grandkids much. We could get a sitter that we actually pay, but we don�t know how to look for one and, to be honest, we�re just not that inclined to go to non-kid-friendly events any more. It may limit our social availability, but we�re just more into the family stuff these days. We�ve left Grommet with other people probably only maybe 5 times, including when we went to the hospital to have Biscuit. Much as she can try our patience, we don�t like to leave her behind. Plus we�re ready for bed ourselves by 9:00 pm most days, and that was true even before Biscuit came along.

Anyway, it was good to see some of our long lost friends and it inspires hope that we'll all make the effort to get together more in the near future.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland