With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The uterine conspiracy.

2008-05-15 - 10:23 p.m.

Today was supposed to be my last full day at work (tomorrow I�ve only got a half day); my uterus had other plans and I ended up at the hospital in the afternoon for a non-stress test. I don�t mean to go all melodramatic about it because I never thought I was in active labour, but I did wonder if the large number of Braxton Hicks contractions I was experiencing, well, forecast that labour would be starting before the June 3rd date for my c-section.

I had misgivings about going to the hospital, mostly because I had total visions of being that car that makes an unsettling noise� until it gets to the mechanic and purrs like a kitten. Fortunately, the monitor bore out what I told the nurse was happening and I was getting Braxton Hicks contractions both often and in a pattern. Like, as in, small ones every 3-4 minutes, with a stronger one about every 5th one.

The verdict was that the Biscuit is fine and this could go on for a good long while � right up until June 3rd, and I should probably gear down my activity level a bit (I went to my weight-lifting class last night and yoga the day before, and I think that�s probably the last time I�ll be at either before the birth, given this new development) and drink more fluids. If they get worse I should go back, and if I do go into labour I need to decide whether I�ll be opting for a c-section or try for a VBAC.

I kind of got the impression that the people at the hospital didn�t see why I wouldn�t try for a VBAC. It was pointed out that the need for the section last time was prompted by the fact that Grommet was in distress and not by any inherent uterine problem of mine. Therefore, the implication was, if this fetus wasn�t in distress, why not try labour? I have to admit I see their point, but my reproductive endocrinologist definitely was in favour of the repeat c-section, and my doctor left if up to me in the sense that she gave me the math and said she�d support whichever decision I made, but the math she gave wasn�t encouraging.

Am I wimping out? Am I making the right decision? For the right reasons? Should I let fate decide � labour before the 3rd, give it a try, no labour before then, go through with the planned surgery? I was pretty sure and now I�m less so. I�m not totally torn or leaning the other way, but I�d peg it more at being 95% sure before, and maybe 75% now.

Oh, and if you�re wondering, I will, in fact, now have to go in on the weekend to ensure that my files are transferred properly. Boo!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland