With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Freedom!

2008-05-16 - 5:37 p.m.

Okay, not totally � I still have a good few hours left of file-sorting to do, plus I�ve got to pack my personal stuff like course manuals, etc. and will have to go in over the weekend, but I�ve officially worked my last day of work for the next year! Maternity leave, here I come.

Since it�s a full two weeks before my c-section (and I refuse to contemplate being any earlier than that), and Grommet will be in daycare for 4 days each of those weeks, I have been rubbing my hands with glee at the prospect of actually having some time to myself before the Biscuit is born. Lord knows it�ll be a long, long time before I can actually spend 8 consecutive hours on my own (thanks, in part, to the fact that I plan to breastfeed and anticipate it�ll be for about the same amount of time as his sister� about a year and a half at least, unless something happens to truncate that), so I�m going to relish these next couple of weeks.

I foresee matinees in my near future: Iron Man is out, the new Narnia movie starts this weekend, and the new Indiana Jones will be out in another week. Thanks for the timing Hollywood! I plan on doing some personal grooming: I may either cut my hair or get it cut, and I think I�ll be waxing my legs and possibly doing some (warning, TMI!!!) nether-region topiary-ing before going into the hospital� because I�m so sure my (female) obstetrician would notice, much less care, right? Snort.

I also will be doing all the practical stuff like finishing packing for the hospital for myself, Biscuit, and J, and for Grommet�s sojourn at her grandparents; getting all the paperwork filled out and stuff sent in to make sure all my HR stuff is covered for my mat leave (I have to file with Service Canada, plus send some extra stuff in to my work�s HR department to ensure my benefits keep going.); finish my and J�s taxes (we�re getting refunds so this isn�t urgent, but it�d be nice to have it out of the way; go to the Great Glebe Garage Sale, as well as the National Capital Race Weekend�s Sports Expo next weekend; go to the rec center�s new salt water pool and bob around like a fishing float; and maybe, just maybe, actually put my feet up and rest from time-to-time so I don�t have a repeat of yesterday, i.e., an unplanned visit to the hospital.

Before all this happens, I have family coming in from out of town this weekend to celebrate my mother�s birthday, so there will be feasting at both of my sets of parents.

Woo! Let the good times roll!

And at the end of it all� a tiny new baby son coming home. And that is the most exciting part of all.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland