With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Some days you get the bear.

2005-07-29 - 1:48 p.m.

My GOD people, I am stuffed with water. I have to have a full bladder for the ultrasound in an hour and I�m terrified of it not being full enough and them sending me away; almost as terrified as I am of having my bladder SO full that the pressure of the ultrasound wand will make me pee right there.

I was thirsty this morning and it takes a couple of days for me to fully rehydrate after the consecutive gym nights on Tuesday and Wednesday. So I�ve had over 2 L (8 cups for you Yankees) already, and I have at least another � L to go (2 more cups) if I�m going to fulfill my �drink a litre about an hour before your ultrasound� directions.

You know what popped into my head just now? When I was young I heard a Native American story that went something like this (and keep in mind, I heard this more than 20 years ago so the details may not be accurate):

A smaller, cleverer woodland creature, in an attempt to avoid getting eaten by a bear, tricks the bear into drinking an entire lake or river. Then he points at the bear�s tail and exclaims, �Your tail!�

The bear bends over to look between his legs at his tail but he�s so full of water that he bursts and all the water comes out in a fine spray. That was the origin of fog/mist.

I feel for the bear. I really do.

J�s on his way to pick me up � next time I write it�ll be post-ultrasound!!!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland