With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Grommet is in the house!

2005-07-30 - 4:52 p.m.

I was going to wait to post until I had a chance to (hopefully) scan in the ultrasound pic... but an email prodding from the lovely and also pregnant Miss Zoot has had me guiltily scurrying to the keyboard. Fret not, Grommet has been spotted and she's a squirmer! It was indescribably cool, yet freaky, to see our fetus on the screen kicking and punching and twisting around. Makes me a bit nervous about when she gets bigger - I'm going to feel positively pummelled once there's some strength behind those jabs. We saw his wee little heart beating and was told that his heart rate was "just perfect" for his age.

We don't have any official results back because we have to wait until both blood tests are completed (then we get all the results at once) - the second one won't be done until mid-August - but the nuchal fold measurement was 1.3 mm and the nasal bone was present, both of which are good signs. I'll maybe come back and add links later to show you what I mean, but for now take my word for it.

It was a one-stop shopping experience because the ultrasound clinic is part of the hospital we hope to give birth in. Once the show was over and we'd stashed away our pics it was off to get blood drawn, which was fast and I hardly felt it at all. Then we managed to convince the nice ladies at labour and delivery to let us peek into a birthing room. It wasn't TOO scary looking and the desk staff were very nice.

So, I'm off to try using our digital camera to take a picture of an ultrasound picture. If it works out, I'll be back soon...

-------------------------

The next day

Okay folks, I�m back. Without further ado, may I present the world debut of the one, the only, Grommet!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland