With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Lucky.

2010-07-14 - 2:31 p.m.

This weekend I was in line at the self-checkout at the grocery store when a man came dashing over to the station behind me. He looked relieved as he pulled some money from the change-return tray. I think I caught the colours of a five dollar bill but maybe there was more underneath it.

I idly looked down at my station�s tray. Green-coloured bill. Here in Canada that means a twenty. I pulled it out. Eighty bucks.

My heart sank. Five dollars I could have maybe patted myself on the back for finding and kept. Eighty dollars was a loss that anyone would feel.

I went up to the staff member and turned it in. I saw her ask her supervisor what to do, then write a note about it which presumably got filed somewhere. They didn�t ask my name to give it to me if it went unclaimed or if the person who got it back wanted to know who had done them the favour of returning it.

I�m still not entirely happy about the whole thing. Oh sure, I feel I made the right decision, but I wish I knew that that money had found its way back to the owner�s pockets and not into those of the store employees or, even worse, the account of the mega-chain who didn�t need it and didn�t rightfully own it.

What would you have done? And would you call the store back to see if it had been claimed? It�s been 5 days so if no one�s claimed it yet, they ain�t gonna...

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland