With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The good and the bad.

2010-06-25 - 3:56 p.m.

Yesterday I saw a new skin-cancer doctor. This one was actually a full-fledged dermatologist (director of surgical dermatology for one of the local universities) and has been in the biz for quite some time.

Good news: He was very decisive about the rough patch on my lip: not cancer.

Bad news: It still had to come off.

Good news: It didn�t need to be cut off.

Bad news: It had to be burned off with liquid nitrogen.

Good news: I didn�t need a needle first because the nitrogen freezes the nerve endings.

Bad news: It was going to be painful once the nerves thawed.

Good news: The pain was only going to last about 5 minutes.

Bad news: The blister that was going to form was going to peel off and leave a scab.

Good news: It wouldn�t leave a scar.

Bad news: I�d look kind of like I had a yucky cold sore for a couple of weeks.

Good news: NOT CANCER!

Bad news: EARTHQUAKE!

Good news: The procedure was just over when it hit.

There was nothing further I needed to do with him so I shook the man�s hand, thanked him, and headed for open ground.

I found out shortly after via radio that the epicentre was only 60 miles north of here, but that it was felt as far away as Chicago.

Bonus: I didn�t miss much in the way of work back at the office because it was evacuated anyway.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland