With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Checking in.

2011-03-13 - 11:13 p.m.

Every time something significant happens, I start to compose a blog entry in my head� and that�s where it ends. Alas, I do not have time for writing very much these days, more�s the pity. No longer can I pinpoint exactly when my kids got illnesses or new teeth by looking at this blog in the future. I even gave up paying for the upgrade for this blog - it didn't make sense to be paying extra money for the two people who actually comment here to be able to continue commenting. Sorry guys. You'll have to email me instead (click the contact link).

Since last writing, I�ve been to Jamaica (Beaches Boscobel � worth every penny), and to Weetacon VII. Grommet turned five and I tried to make a pi�ata and failed miserably� but the Mexican party turned out great anyway. Grommet has hit about 42 pounds. Biscuit is still a mere 30ish. Biscuit is pooping on the potty but still happily peeing in his diaper. A truly horrendous round of stomach flu swept through the family last week, but Biscuit and I got off the lightest (he got a fever, I got only mild cramping). Grommet puked for about a day but J got it the absolute worst, and on the day I was leaving for Wisconsin.

I am thinking seriously about changing jobs within the government, but not as seriously as I was about striking out on my own to make my fortune.

We�re signing papers tomorrow to put our house up for sale. We�ve hired cleaners to come in twice a week but they�ve only come once so far so we�ll see how that goes.

I feel like I do not have enough time with the kids, or with J for that matter. Between work at the office, work and meetings and practices at the gym, and all the stuff it takes to keep my photography business going, plus the various side projects I�ve got going on�

Hm. It appears that I don�t merely feel like I don�t have enough time with the kids, I really and truly don�t. So what can give? I can�t not do the office job thing. For the sake of my health, I don�t really feel like I should give up the gym. Does that leave the photography? Should I scale it back? It�s a hard choice. I�ve already applied to the Tulip Festival this year so there�s that commitment in place if they accept me. And to be honest, I�m not sure it would free up much time to give up the photography, which I currently mostly fit in after the kids have gone to bed.

Tough choices. And I have no answers right now. But I�ll be back. I just don�t know when.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland