With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The REAL new year.

2010-09-09 - 4:35 p.m.

I know January is officially the new year, but I always look at the day after Labour Day as one of those major days when life rolls over from one phase to the next. I suppose it�s partly do to my long academic career, even if I�ve been out of school for, ye gods, 12 years now!

Speaking of academic careers, Grommet is about to embark on hers: Tuesday we had the "meet the teacher" session with her and next week she starts Junior Kindergarten. This�ll mean afternoons, 5 days a week. Her class has a staggering (and illegal) 27 kids in it right now, but we expect that will get whittled down to the required max of 20 to 23 within a few weeks. We had to bring glue sticks, Ziploc bags, and a change of clothes with us to the school.

She is using her Spider Man backpack, and I hope she still thinks it�s �cool� for a girl to have once she�s part of the pack. I have dreadful visions of her coming home the first day and tossing all her dinosaurs and Spider Man paraphernalia and demanding we paint her room pink.

Grommet has new shoes for school � we bought the ones we were asked to buy, then she liked them so much we got a second pair because the school needs some that are strictly for indoor use only and she wanted to wear her new shoes everywhere. With the advent of cooler weather, fall clothes are starting to come out of storage to be tried on for size. Out-grown but not-too-girly favourites are making their way into the pile reserved for Biscuit when he�s a bit older; the girly stuff is still being hung onto, in the expectation of passing some of it along to friends and relatives (my cousin is currently expecting). I could probably consign some of it too, but I�m more of a buyer of consignment than seller. It�s a lot of effort to sell stuff that I�d only get a buck for each.

Biscuit�s clothes too are getting a critical inspection: he�s still so skinny that, at over 2 years a lot of his 12M pants still fit around the waist, and aren�t totally flood-like short. An inch higher up and I�d replace them for sure; a centimetre lower and they�d be perfect. I�m probably going to go to the big bi-annual consignment sale and just supplement what he�s got so he�ll last through the winter.

Small size notwithstanding, there�s really no escaping it: my two babies are babies no more. I�ve got one toddler and one kindergartener in the house. Where is the time going?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland