With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Spring is in the air.

2010-03-31 - 4:08 p.m.

I don�t think I mentioned it, but Biscuit was officially weaned when we got back from Jamaica in January. I�m sort of sad but sort of glad at the same time, since it does free me up to do things like go away for the weekend. Not that I plan to do that often, but I wouldn�t have been able to attend Weetacon with him still nursing. The next weekend away from the kids will be the first full weekend in August, when I�ll be going to BlogHer in New York with the hubby. (Sure, he won�t come to Wisconsin in March, but New York in August? In a hot minute, apparently.)

Speaking of Biscuit, he�s now drinking milk! His dairy allergy seems to have disappeared, and he�s chugging down bottles of organic whole milk every night, and I think he�ll even be able to eat ice cream for his 2nd birthday this June! I still add a touch of soy mixed in, along with a scoop of powdered dietary supplement (basically a formula) that�s designed for toddlers. I know I�ll have to get him off the night-time bottles for the sake of his teeth, but for now I�m just happy he�s finally getting some calories into him.

::

We are still in the new house, thinking of when we�ll be moving back to the old house. Because our tenants are looking to change cities within the next year but don�t know when exactly it�ll happen, we�ve struck a deal with them that they can leave whenever they want as long as they give us 3 months notice so we can sell the new house in a timely fashion. I kind of wish they�d give us a call tomorrow: right now is a ridiculously good time to sell a house here in Ottawa. The market has gone absolutely insane this spring. Plus, it�d be nice to have the pool back for what�s forecast to be a hot, dry summer.

Oh well, I shouldn�t complain: they are paying our mortgage for us as long as they�re there, and the new house isn�t exactly a hovel.

::

I have been selected to be one of the official artists for the Canadian Tulip Festival again this year! This means, in case you missed it last year, that my photography will be sold in the Tulip Art Gallery in Commissioner�s Park (beside Dow�s Lake), and I�ll get an official artist�s badge to wear while I�m out-and-about (or �oot-and-aboot�, as some of my fine American friends insist I say) at the festival taking pictures. They only want 2 images this year since last year they felt the walls were too crowded. I�m tempted to take 2 large and 3 smaller, and offer to leave either set, depending on their space and layout restrictions.

I also boldly approached two more gallery owners to give them my business cards last week. No nibbles yet, but at least I�m making the effort. On the plus side, I�ve been offered some free advertising space in my realtor friend�s quarterly newsletter, and he�s buying one of my framed images and giving it away as a free prize draw.

I can only hope the tax man takes all this effort into consideration and accepts my photography business as a business, and not just the �furtherance of a hobby�.

Ugh. Taxes. That�s something else to add to my to-do list for the next couple of week. In the short-term though�

Happy Easter everyone!

Feel free to drop by my new digs dedicated to my photography stuff, and where I�ve started a diptych project. Also, I�m getting my new package of Photoshop and Dreamweaver delivered next week, so I�m hoping to spruce up the actual home base website.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland