With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

What's up, buttercup?

2010-02-10 - 2:00 p.m.

No, I haven�t disappeared from the face of the earth, just this journal. I suppose you could say I�ve been on unplanned hiatus.

This is really just a note to let those few of you who follow this thing that I�m going to continue this hiatus � though planned this time � for at least a little while. It�s not a case of being overwhelmed by all I�ve got on my plate, so much as really wanting to focus on a short list of few things, which this journal is not currently on.

For the record, before I go back to radio silence:

Biscuit hit the 10th percentile for weight, then got a cold when we first got to Jamaica and dropped about � a pound (he was down to 9.75 kg). It doesn�t sound like a lot but it made a perceptible difference when I hefted him and he does look skinny in the nekkid-on-the-beach pics I took of him, and it was enough to knock him back to only about 3rd percentile at his 20-month follow-up with the dietician and gastroenterologist. Nevertheless, they were encouraged enough that they don�t plan on seeing him again and the dietician wants us to re-introduce dairy into his diet, with the goal of giving him whole milk instead of the current insanely complicated and expensive mix he�s on: Alimentum (hypo-allergenic formula), soy milk, organic safflower oil and a daily dropper of multi-vitamins. For awhile we�ll be adding an ounce of milk into that mix, then two, and so on until he�s all milk, all the time, assuming he doesn�t show any adverse symptoms. If he does, we�re to transition him to just the commercial soy and perhaps a bit of oil and vitamin supplementation. Yay for no more pricey formula! Oh and don�t worry, he�s been packing the weight back on since we got back 1.5 weeks ago, and I think he�s totally regained it already.

Jamaica was AWESOME. Sun, sand, surf, all the food and beverage you could hold, what�s not to like? If you have kids of the ankle-biting age, I cannot recommend Beaches Boscobel enough. There are two or 3 tiny, nitpicky things I�d suggest to them to make it that much better, but overall we were VERY happy with that vacation. Also, Grommet turned 4 there and I owe her a letter here soon as a result.

J lost his great-aunt. She broke her hip and was gone only a couple of weeks later. As someone in the fitness industry, I cannot emphasize enough how important it is to work on your balance and flexibility as you age, as well as do some weight-bearing activity for your bone density. The funeral was last weekend and we took the kids who were, as usual, very well-behaved. It was great to see some of the family but it�s too bad the circumstances weren�t happier.

So that�s it. I�m giving some serious attention to what I want out of life and how to get there these days, and in the short-term I�ve got the day-to-day stuff ongoing: I was interviewed on the fPOE blog; I donated a print to To Haiti With Love and have to get it to the printers ASAP, along with a couple other prints I�ve been promising people; I just submitted an article to a photography blog � watch this space �cause I�ll link to it if it gets the thumbs up and goes live; I�m getting ready to go to Weetacon and need to book tix to NY for BlogHer soon; and I�m giving some serious thought to re-branding my photography business, including a revamp of the website, which is pretty basic right now.

See y�all when the spirit next moves me.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland