With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Last post of the decade.

2009-12-30 - 4:22 p.m.

Whoah.

When I was growing up, everyone did the mental math to figure out how old they�d be when the calendar rolled over to 2000. And I�m sure that, like me, no one really thought much beyond that. It never occurred to me to do the math for 2010, and it�s only in the last week that I even caught on to the fact that the first decade of the new millennium was pretty much over (I�m quick like that).

And even though it seems like we just started the 2000s, I look back to where I was 10 years ago and my mind boggles at the difference. I�ve met and married my perfect match, and we have both a daughter and son together. I have tried on various jobs on the path of my current career, and sampled a couple of others besides, just to keep things interesting. I bought my first house. Then I knocked it down, built my new house, sold that house, moved to the �burbs, moved within the �burbs, and will be going back to that first �burb house sometime over the next year. Most likely. The plan is to stay put for at least another 6 years after that, but that�s assuming I can stop myself from buying and/or building another one during that time. Oh well, there�s always renovation�

In the last 10 years I�ve learned French. I�ve learned some photography and photography-software skillz. I�ve learned how to help people get a great workout in sync with music. I�ve learned a bit about residential design and construction. I�ve learned how to change a poopy diaper on the trunk of a car. I�ve learned how to get up at dawn almost every morning. I�ve learned that friends are important, but time with family is even more so. I�ve learned a whole lot about love.

I�ve learned a bit about chasing dreams; I�ve learned a bit about letting go. I�ve learned that both are enormously important to one�s happiness and sanity.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland