With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A year and a half of Biscuit.

2009-12-03 - 4:48 p.m.

A year and a half ago, my second baby was born. Today I have to admit that he�s technically no longer a baby but a toddler, but he�ll always be �my baby� to me, no matter how big or old he gets.

Biscuit is not exactly thriving if you look at his weight (still only 3rd percentile as far as we know), but he�s certainly alert, active, adorable, and insatiably curious. We cannot keep him out of the cupboards and are seriously considering putting kid-proof locks on them. (His sister could have cared less about the cupboards so this is a new experience for us.)

He is very much a stereotypical boy in that loves cars and makes little vrroooming sounds as he runs them over the table. We can barely understand a word he says (it�s common, I�m told, for boys to have slower development of language skills), but when he holds a phone up to his ear and chirps �hawo?� we can barely contain our swooning, so high is the cute factor.

He�s got a checkup this coming Monday with the family doc and a follow-up consultation with the dietician on Thursday, so we�ll at least find out if he�s still following the various development curves, even if he isn�t gaining on them.

I�m considering when to wean him these days: he�s not getting much from me in the way of nutrition at this point and it seems like he�s dependant on it to fall back to sleep when he wakes during the night. This is obviously not an optimal situation. It�s not the worst either though, because I love having his little body snuggled up to me and I know it�s only a matter of time before he won�t want to cuddle at all.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland