With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Days getting shorter, list of things to do getting longer.

2009-11-20 - 4:26 p.m.

So let us recap my current obligations, shall we?

- mother to two young children
- full-time office job
- part-time job teaching at the gym
- own, fledgling photography business which these days includes:
- a show currently running at the Glebe Community Centre art gallery
- trying to gear up for Christmas by producing calendars from my images
- collaborating with 65 other members of the Female Photographers of Etsy (fPOE) on a book!
- trying to expand both my Etsy shop and my website
- getting some pics to people that I�ve been promising for a shamefully long time
- wife to a wonderful man, who is busy in his own right, what with owning his own business and having a life too
- writer of this here blog

I have not even made mention of social obligations that are starting to ramp up at this time of year.

While I would never say that this list is in precise order of importance, you can see which one is at the end, and that�s probably fairly accurate. This may, in fact, be one of only a few times in years and years of blogging that I�ve gone a couple of weeks without updating.

Here are the highlights of recent activity:

Biscuit got the H1N1 vaccine. Because of his egg allergy he had to have it at the hospital under a doctor�s supervision, and they gave him 10% of his � dose, watched him for � and hour, then gave him the rest and watched him for an hour. He got a fever that night and was too grouchy for daycare the next day, but I feel a lot better now that he�s been vaccinated.

I�m not feeling better about the fact that he�s still only 3rd percentile for weight for his age. WTF dietician and gastroenterologist? We�ve had him on your recommended feeding regimen for almost 3 months now, but he hasn�t gained any ground on the charts. We might as well have continued to feed him his beloved yogurt, for all the good your dairy-free diet is doing. Okay, we�ve continued to butter his toast and he does still get the odd goldfish cracker or small lump of cheese, but that can�t possibly account for his stubborn refusal to gain weight. He�s doing the soy milk/hypoallergenic formula (which I assume is made from pure gold, based on its cost)/multivitamin/oil mixture you told us to put him on, but the kid just doesn�t seem to want to eat much. WHAT ARE WE TO DO NOW?!?! WHAT???

Also in Biscuit news, he�s toddling all over the place now; sometimes he even runs. He still falls down a lot, but I have to admit, he�s no longer a baby and is firmly in the �toddler� category.

Have I mentioned he still can�t clearly say a single word besides Mama? Oh, he can sometimes luck out and enunciate something as clear as a bell, but two minutes later he�s back to gog, gak and guk for dog, cat and duck. When do I get him evaluated? He�ll be a year and a half in under 2 weeks.

Grommet sometimes drives us crazy in the evenings these days:

�Eat your dinner.
Your dinner.
Put it in your mouth, chew and swallow.
If you don�t eat your dinner you won�t be able to go to the library tonight.
That piece right there. Yes now swallow it.
Swallow what�s in your mouth or I�m taking your dinner because you clearly don�t want it.
Okay, you don�t want it, it�s gone.
No, you don�t want it. If you did you�d have eaten more than one forkful over the last 20 minutes.
Stop freaking out. You didn�t want it. You even said so.
If you can�t be pleasant, go to your room until you calm down.
I don�t care if you don�t want to go, that�s kind of the point.
To. Your. ROOM!!!�

Lather, rinse, repeat the next night.

I know, I should pick my battles and this shouldn�t be one of them, yet I seem to get trapped in this spiral all. The. Damn. Time.

Help!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland