With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Mantras 'n Mottos: following the linky love.

2009-10-21 - 3:23 p.m.

I was over at Shutter Sisters yesterday and there was an entry which asked people what their mantra was. I mentioned my own � life is too short to eat rotten lettuce � but was curious enough to go back today to see what people had written.

First of all, �life is too short to eat rotten lettuce�? I know it sounds odd. But I�m infamous for hating waste, particularly of food and/or money. In addition to my obsessive recycling habit, I will eat things after their expiry date as long as it doesn�t taste or look �off�, and have been known to just cut off or scoop out the bad parts and eat the rest (depending on what it is of course � I wouldn�t do this to meat, for example) Since I�ve got a cast-iron stomach I�ve yet to regret this policy.

But I draw the line at picking through the bag of mixed greens and tearing off the bits of leaf that have turned to slime and rinsing off the �good� bits. I have to admit that the bits that are left probably aren�t all that good, and it takes time and half-rotten lettuce is kind of nasty to handle. So, even though I have occasionally been tempted to try to salvage what I can, I try to remind myself that there are some things I just have to let go of and the best I can do is bring it out to my mom�s to compost.

If you�re a �toss on the morning of the expiry date even if it looks and smells fine� kind of person, you�re probably grossed out by me right now. But I�d probably be scandalized by you whenever you eat half of what�s on your plate and then throw out the rest. There are things upon which reasonable people can agree to disagree (in other words, we can judge each other silently but don�t make an active issue of it) and I think this is one of them.

I have another that applies to work situations that�s a quote from and old boss: �Perfect is the enemy of good enough.� He would say that when we were tempted to endlessly tweak a document which, really, was ready and needed to go out.

Secondly, there are some great mantras/mottos out there. My mom�s is �all things in moderation� (an ironic choice for an all-or-nothing woman), but just from that link above, here are some of my favourites:

"We are always getting ready to live, but never living." from Georgia at Jorjah-B.

�I am enough� from Shutter Sister Tracey Clark at TraceyClark.com.

�Don't cry because it's over ... smile because it happened!� from Laura Evans at Laura Evans Photography.


�Smelling the roses stops time.� from Leaca at Simply Blogged.

�Progress not perfection.� and �It's never too late to live happily ever after.� from Dana at Urban Utopia Photography.

and
�I am fairly certain that given a cape & a tiara, I could save the world.� From Joy at Joy St. Claire Photography.

Why not add your own mantra/motto in the comments section, then follow some of the links to check out just who are these women that say such interesting things?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland