With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Fattening up the baby, one spoonful at a time.

2009-04-16 - 10:03 p.m.

Here�s the deal, the Biscuit is FREAKING ME OUT! In addition to the fact that he lost 3 ounces in the last month instead of gaining any weight, he has recently started to do this jerky-head thing where he looks upwards at something and then shake-tilts his head from side. Other people have seen it and pronounced it adorable, but all I can think is that if I had a cat doing that I�d take her to the vet for a check for ear mites, and since babies don�t get ear mites it must be a brain tumour.

He has a paediatrician appointment AND an allergist appointment coming up in the next week and a half, so hopefully we�ll have some answers as to why he pukes up anything rich and how to get him to eat things he can keep down. It has come to desperate measures in Casa 14B, let me tell you:

I confess, I�ve always sneered at the �dessert� baby food. �Babies don�t need dessert.� I declared. �All that sugar isn�t good for them and will just make them develop a taste for over-sweetened food. This is targeted at grownups who can�t imagine going without dessert and think it�s �depriving� their child if they don�t give them junk after a meal.�

Grommet didn�t have chocolate, cookies, or cake until she was almost two years old, but guess who bought their 10-month old baby �Blueberry dessert� baby food today? I�ll eat crow if it means getting Biscuit to eat something with some substance. I looked at the ingredients and it�s all organic fruit, brown rice flour, and cream, and best of all, it�s got a calorie per mL so every small spoonful will actually deliver some much-needed energy.

J fed it to him tonight and he actually ate almost a quarter of the jar. I know that doesn�t sound like much to people who are used to normal babies who can eat a jar or two of baby food at a time, but this was probably the most he�s eaten in one sitting, ever. And he didn�t like it but J patiently kept at it and I think that�s what it�s going to take. Until now we�ve been giving up when Biscuit has reached to point of crying, turning his head, batting the spoon away, and blowing raspberries to keep food from entering his mouth. Trouble is, he reaches that point after about 3 small spoonfuls of anything. So maybe it will take persisting a bit longer in hopes he gets used to it? I also got a tiny bit of formula into him today and he didn�t take much but he didn�t gag either, which is also an improvement.

Patience, persistence and practice; I don�t have a ton of the first, but I�m working on it, for my son�s sake.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland