With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Maybe you can get there from here after all.

2009-03-18 - 12:15 p.m.

Oh frabjous day!

Yesterday I sold my first photograph through Etsy! And you�ll never guess who bought it� Jen Lemen!

I met Jen at BlogHer �07. She was a lovely soul and, even back then, very encouraging of my photography, so when I got my Etsy shop up and running I thought I�d let her know (I saw she was online at gmail, so I impulsively messaged her). To be honest, I was sort of hoping for some kind words to perk me up a bit. I know that I don�t really have the whole �how to drive traffic to my site� down, so it�s kind of discouraging to put something up and then, in a matter of a couple of days, get buried under the avalanche of newer offerings on Etsy.

Within minutes she messaged that she�d not only checked out my stuff and liked it, but had bought something as well. I was floored but, sure enough, I got the notification email from Etsy within moments. Today she emailed me the following:

�this image is so deep for me. it's how i feel right now--like i'm walking through fire on a path that opens at just the right moment. kind of like the red sea parting. thanks for creating something that speaks to my soul�

How cool is that?

My first sale! And to a Shutter Sister no less!

Wanna see it? Okay, I�m inspired and taking the plunge: here it is. No guarantees how long I�ll leave this link up though�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland