With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

You can�t get there from here. And you can�t get here from there.

2009-02-23 - 8:03 p.m.

Here�s the thing: I have set up an Etsy shop for my photography. I don�t have a ton of images up there, but I�ve put up a few. This confronts me with a conundrum: after years of writing online and very few in my �real life� knowing about it, I suddenly have a different kind of �web presence� that I�m not sure how to approach. You see, my Etsy shop is ShawnaMylastname.etsy.com. I�m setting up my own domain name � which previously just brought people to a Google apps page � to forward to Etsy until I can get a proper site developed. My domain name is ShawnaMylastname.com.

I�ve always identified myself by my first name only here. Oh sure, it wouldn�t be impossible to find out what my last name is if you really wanted to fine-comb through the site for clues. My kids go by aliases, as does my husband. I don�t give specifics on my Workplaces. Heck, the fact that this place is called Compartment 14B is a nod to the fact that I have tended to separate different aspects of my life � my work, my home, my blogosphere/writing, my photography, etc.

And yet.

I�m faced with the fact that photography really is an area in which one builds a brand around one�s name. And I like my name. And, after well over 5 years, I can honestly say that I feel I�ve managed to keep myself out of dangerous waters in this journal in the sense that I don�t talk about work and I don�t think I�ve said much that would offend those who know me that aren�t looking for a reason to be offended. So, should I let my real-life people in on this place? Well, no. That�s not likely to happen. BUT, I may end up gathering the various threads of my life into a skein and put a blog section into my new website and transition there. Should I let you all in on the space? Well, this is a yes and no. I recognize that I shouldn�t just ignore any chance to send people to check out my new venture. But at the same time, I�m not sure I want to just be followed over by all and sundry (not to be confused with All & Sundry, who can follow me anywhere she darn well pleases).

So here�s the thing: I know you�ve been lurking. I see that you visit and I have no idea who you are because you just don�t comment. But if you want to check out my photography stuff you�ll have to stand up and identify yourself. Anyone who wants the new urls, just let me know. Drop me an email or leave your email address when you comment (it doesn�t get posted) and I�ll be happy, nay, flattered to send you the link.

Deal?

Don�t worry, even though my posting here has been slowed down of late because I've been dividing my attention, I�ll still be posting here a good while yet I expect. I�m thrilled that anyone out there wants to visit my little corner over here, so thanks for coming by, even if you don�t follow me any further down this path I�m blazing.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland