With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

On this historic day.

2009-01-20 - 8:46 p.m.

I am not American. As a Canadian, I�ve had a passing interest in American politics in the same way a dog might keep a wary eye on the elephant he�s rooming with, since any movement from that large roomie can certainly have repercussions in our tight living quarters.

Today I was out doing errands while President Barack Obama was actually sworn in, and only caught some of the post-ceremony analysis on CNN. I can only imagine what it was like to watch live, because even the snippets of his speech that they were dissecting moved me unexpectedly. I didn�t actually shed any tears, but had I been alone instead of on the treadmill at the gym I might have. On the news at six I saw many Canadians doing just that. Our Governor General even had it on a big screen at Rideau Hall and invited about a hundred school children and ordinary citizens to come and watch it � a first in its own right.

You Americans might just think �of course�, because you felt like that yourselves, but think about how rare it probably is, non-Americans crying tears of joy at the swearing in of one of your presidents. And while I have, as mentioned, noted who won American elections before (and couldn�t believe it when Bush was re-elected; I really didn�t see that one coming), I have never, ever even known what day the actual inauguration took place. I never cared to. And to be perfectly honest, I was half-braced for someone to try to take him out before today arrived.

I know that not everyone in America voted for him. I know not everyone outside America was rooting for him. But nevertheless, I know there are a whole lot of people today thinking �Well done America. Well done.�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland