With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A long time in the making.

2009-01-10 - 9:27 p.m.

It�s so close I can almost taste it� the launch of my Etsy shop for my photography! I have the shop set up and ready for listing items. I have my very own domain name set up with a hosting company and it�s ready to forward people to Etsy*. I just have to order prints so that I�ll actually have a product on hand if, no, scratch that and think positively, when my first order comes in. This will let me test out a couple of printing services, and I�ll need prints for Art in the Park anyway in a few months. Plus I don�t want to delay in getting orders out. If I get enough business to justify it I�ll get a better printer for photographs eventually and can print on demand, but for now I think I�ll go with a professional service provider. I also have to scope out shipping charges so that I know what to charge for it, but I�ve started to do that too.

For Art in the Park I have to decide what I want to do in terms of presentation of my work, but I�m pretty sure I�ll go with framed 8x10s for most of my display, with maybe one bigger framed print and one print on canvas so people will be able to see those options are available for ordering, plus a box of unframed 5x7s and 4x6s for sale and an album of my portfolio which includes my portrait work to entice some more custom jobs. Now I just have to figure out what to actually hang stuff on and get a tent in case it�s raining.

And you all thought I was just busy with the baby these days, eh?

You know, Linda has written quite a bit about how exercising has such a positive impact on the rest of her life, and she is absolutely right. But I�ve also found that progress towards a dearly-held goal, even one that has nothing to do with the corporeal self, also has a positive effect that ripples outwards into other aspects of my life. I�ve been talking about doing this sort of thing for so long that to actually see real, substantial progress made me feel so good that I hit the gym with extra verve today, resolved to eat a bit better and drink more water, and gave me a slightly deeper reserve of patience with my kids. Oh and J may have found a side benefit to this as well. I�ll leave the specifics to your imagination�

------------------------
* The beauty of this setup is that it lets me get my domain name into circulation, but buys me time before I have to actually set up a site of my very own. Yet, I can choose amongst the applications that comes with my hosting service (WordPress, Gallery, Coppermine, etc.), download it and noodle around with it, taking my time to build it the way I want it, and then, only when I�m ready, I can set it up as a proper site. And it�s cheap enough that I don�t mind paying for it while it just forwards to my Etsy shop.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland