With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Getting the picture.

2008-11-25 - 10:17 p.m.

Yes, it�s been a week, but that darn Christmas photo book has been sucking up all my computer time. It�s almost eerie how I can sit down for �just a few minutes� and then glance at the clock to discover that it�s been more like �a few hours�. Our version is now done � all 58 pages of it, and I don�t even want to think about how much it�s going to cost (I kept thinking, how could I not add this page of photos? It�s only 99 cents per page! But let me tell you, it adds up, particularly once you�ve almost tripled the size of the basic book. But I digress�) � and the one for the �rents is close to done (and shorter at 38 pages), and I�m hoping my grandmother�s will be the fastest of all but I haven�t even started it yet.

Wait. What? Did I not mention the Christmas photo book? Last year Uncle Bob did a lovely, basic, 20-page photo book, covering the preceding two years, for each of us for Christmas. We loved them so much that we decided to make it an annual tradition, so I duly sorted out my favourite snaps from the last year and took a crack at putting that puppy together using iPhoto on his MacBook. (No iPhoto or Mac? You can also create some pretty nifty looking books on Snapfish.com, and I believe there's a discount promotion code offered through Redbook right now.) The problem with doing it myself is twofold: one, I cannot bear to leave out any photo that I deemed worthy during my initial screening of the year�s worth of pics, and; two, by the time it gets here there will be no surprise whatsoever as to the contents and I fear I�ll be heartily sick of looking at the thing for awhile. On the upside: yay, precious memories preserved in paper form! For a �photographer� (I wonder if I�ll ever stop mentally putting that particular self-reference in quotes?) it�s pretty shameful how few pictures I print. Plus my inner control freak gets to dictate exactly which pictures are included and how they�re laid out.

I�ve also been channelling a domestic diva this past week. Well, not in terms of cleaning my house (har, har, HAR! As IF!), but in the kitchen I�ve been doing home cooking galore. No plans for dinner? I�ll just whip up a healthy, tasty stir fry out of leftovers and some bok choy. Don�t want to spend the cash on a humdrum breakfast out? How does French toast with orange maple syrup and dark chocolate shavings sound? Looking for an activity to keep Grommet happy? Why not let her �help� me make some muffins or chocolate chip cookies?

Also, we had our second and final appointment to pick colours and finishes for our new house today. I�m happy to report that our upgrade costs came in well under what I estimated our budget should be, and that this will remain true even after we do the after-market stuff like installing the hardwood. We�ll have money left over for things like rain gutters, window coverings, fences, land transfer taxes, etc. Best of all, I�m really pleased with our choices, even though they didn�t cost a ton. We�ll be taking possession at the end of May and our foundation is already poured. It�ll be exciting to see it taking shape throughout the next 6 months.

So, yeah, less time on the crack-box than usual. I promise at least one more entry before another week goes by. Next week Biscuit turns 6 months (!) so I may even post a picture.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland