With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

This is going to be a LONG weekend.

2008-09-25 - 11:34 a.m.

Oh man, Grommet was sick, as in throwing-up-all-night sick a couple of days ago and I thought, �thank GOD it�s now at least, and not when J is gone to BC this weekend.�

Fate? What are you doing here? Was I tempting you? Silly, silly me.

So we were getting ready to drive J to the airport and guess what, Grommet started whimpering and I had just enough time to stuff a plastic tub under her head when, bleargh! He called his dad to drive him rather than risk a repeat in the car where it was much harder to hold a bucket under her mouth. And no daycare for her today, when I�d planned to head downtown after the airport to take Biscuit to an infant drop-in that I used to love when Grommet was a baby. This afternoon I was contemplating a mom-and-baby movie while I planned what to do for dinner: perhaps Vietnamese with friends who adore the kids and would have been happy to share the burden of keeping them both happy for a couple of hours.

Nope. Now it�s relying on the TV to keep Grommet entertained and stationary near her bucket and water while I try to make sure Biscuit stays placated and fed while awake and do my best to make sure he naps on schedule and doesn�t get too cranky.

J won�t be back until Sunday evening. I�m hoping that this latest bout with whatever�s bothering her stomach is a) not contagious and b) short-lived. I�m still hoping she�s well enough for daycare tomorrow and the apple orchard trip I�ve planned for Saturday with her Nana and Grampa. (Corn maze! Fresh mini-cider-donuts! Picking your own apples! How can it miss?)

I�m really, REALLY hoping that today won�t turn into another puke-fest and that we can all at least get outside today. It�s a rare-for-late-September 26 degrees C. And at least if she throws up out there it�s easy to clean up, assuming she misses her clothes.

Wish me luck.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland