With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The kidlets.

2008-08-22 - 10:42 p.m.

Biscuit can now deliberately bring his fists to his mouth and suck on them, even when they�re not propped up conveniently by a shoulder near his face. He�s slept through the night again too. I look at him now � smiling and cooing and responsive to me and cute and chubby like a mini sumo wrestler � and I think, how is it that Americans have to end their maternity leave and go back to work at this stage, when the baby is just getting to be so awesome to have around? It really seems barbaric to me.

I contemplate having the next 9 � months to watch my son change and grow and get teeth and start crawling and eating solids and all those firsts and I�m so glad I don�t have to wonder if they�ll happen for the first time when I�m at work and someone else is with him. Yes, it�s true that I don�t believe I�m built to be a stay-at-home mom, but man, I sure do appreciate the fact that I have a year to get my fill of that lifestyle.

::

Grommet had a very minor ear infection this week. We took her to the doctor to make sure that yes, it was an infection but no, we didn�t need antibiotics for it. We took her back today to make sure it had cleared up on its own and it had.

Since her last appointment, which was the first she hadn�t had to get a couple of needles at, Grommet has become a big fan of going the doctor. When I mentioned taking her in on Wednesday, her first reaction wasn�t fear but rather, �I can get a sticker!� Today when I picked her up from daycare the first words out of her mouth were, �Can I go to the doctor?�

Speaking of daycare, her provider listed off all the vegetables Grommet eats there. I felt my jaw grow slacker and slacker as she named more and more things which Grommet considers practically untouchable at home. Beans. Cauliflower. Broccoli. I asked her if she was sure she was talking about my kid and she assured me she was. I also watched Grommet playing happily with the care provider�s son, who is her best friend.

I know it�s an extra expense to send her there and it probably seems silly to some and downright wrong to others to do so while I�m at home, but I just can�t bring myself to take it away from her: the companionship and social interaction with her peers, messy games, Hindi lessons and healthy homemade food. I may reduce her from 4 to 3 days a week in the fall or winter, but I can�t imagine taking her out entirely. The guilt I would feel would easily equal the guilt I feel at having her go.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland