With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The eyes have it.

2008-07-31 - 1:00 p.m.

Awhile back I read a blog entry (I can't remember where or I'd link to it) wherein the writer asked her audience when children�s eyes stop changing colour. There were dozens of responses in her comment section and I noticed something I found interesting: many of the commenters described their own children�s eye colours and almost none of them used the descriptors of just �brown�, �blue�, etc. For instance, on that thread, Grommet�s eyes wouldn�t be �hazel�, but rather, �some might mistake them for brown, but in fact they�re a mixture of dark steely grey and chocolate.� I might even follow that up with �her doctor calls them hazel,� to lend authority to the statement that they�re not brown, despite what my mother thinks.

Biscuit�s eyes are no longer the flat grey of a newborn, but are filling in a lighter grey from the inner ring outwards. Right now they remind me of a storm cloud, or maybe deep water with a hint of sediment in it, but I can foresee a time when they�ll be lighter than they are right now. I have no idea if brown will start creeping in or not, like it did into his sister�s eyes: I can�t remember when it first showed up with her, but I think it was quite late and her eye colour didn�t really set until she was well over a year old.

I think all of us mothers think our kids� eyes are an unusual colour. Think about it: how would you describe your child�s eyes? And I don�t mean to a person peering at them in the grocery store, but if you had time to wax poetic about it, to people that had never met or seen your kid in person? I bet you couldn�t restrict yourself to a single word.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland