With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Sleeping like a baby.

2008-07-28 - 8:40 a.m.

Biscuit slept through the night (i.e., for more than 6 hours straight during the night) for the second time last night. Might I just reiterate that Grommet did not pull this miraculous feat off until she was well over a year old? And Biscuit is just shy of 8 weeks. And was, like less than two weeks the first time.

To balance things out a bit though, unlike his sister, he does suffer from something causing uncontrollable howling almost every night (tonight was a rare exception). During this period � which can stretch out to a few hours � he seems to really, really want to suck something, and when I initially put him on the boob he clamps on like it�s a lifeline� and then the milk lets down and he lets go and howls his dismay as I spray his face with warm jets of liquid love. It�s like he�s thinking what the f@*%? I don�t want no steenking milk!

At these times we walk him around, then put him in the Moby wrap and go for a stroll, and finally we resort to letting him suck one of our fingers until he�s finally over it (usually by 11:00 pm). I have to confess, the other day we caved and bought him a soother to see if it would do the trick for him (our fingers actually get prune-y and sore from his desperate sucking), vowing that we�d only give it to him for these limited evening periods, but alas (or perhaps fortunately, since I�m not a fan of the soother) he has roundly rejected them as inferior to our fingers.

I do continue to try the boob every half hour or so, just in case enough time has passed that this time he�s really hungry and will take it and just calm the heck down already. Alas, it is rare that this works until he�s good and ready for it to work. We don�t know if he�s in pain or just that�s his personal witching hour, but it seems like he�s just got to get it out of his system in his own good time.

::

Apropos of nothing, I�m really digging milk blended with a banana, Ovaltine, and a dash of cinnamon these days (I also added a scoop of protein powder to this concoction when I was pregnant). I have to restrain myself from having this more than once a day.

I�m also craving sugar, particularly in the form of Cherry Blossoms and Honey Roasted Peanut Oh Henry bars. Fortunately, those are both almost impossible to find around here.

I�m also really missing exercise. (At least one thing I want is healthy.) I think I�ll be starting back at the gym soon.

::

There was more to this entry but my computer ate it so I think I'd better get this up while I have the chance...

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland