With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Oh boy!

2008-07-21 - 3:34 p.m.

My sister in-law just had it confirmed via her second ultrasound in as many days: I have a new nephew on the way. I�m pleased for her because they already have two girls and I know they were hoping for a boy this time. I�m also pleased that Biscuit will have a male cousin about his age to play with.

I have to confess though, I am a little� what�s the word� disquieted perhaps? No, maybe just not entirely comfortable with just how thrilled and excited they are about the fact that this child will possess a penis. I mean, yeah, they have two girls and probably decided to try again partly so they could get their boy. I get that. And yes, lots of people want boys. But I can�t help but feel vaguely defensive at how many more people seem to want boys than girls. After all, I am a girl. More pertinently, I am the girl of a father who wanted boys, and wasn�t allowed to forget it thanks to a slightly bitter mother, divorced from said father lo these many years.

When the email went out from my sister in-law�s husband with the ALL-CAPS-LOCK announcement which topped off the YAHOO with about 20 exclamation points, it just seemed, well, a bit much. As in, if their daughters were old enough to read it I�d fear they�d be kind of hurt and maybe a tad insulted.

I really am happy for them. And I understand being excited; after all, I was excited to find out that Biscuit was a boy, though I really think I would have been just as excited had I been told he�d be a girl (since I�ve always pictured myself as the mother of daughters).

What do you think? Am I being a buzzkill? Should I not be the raincloud hovering over this parade? Am I just � dare I say it � projecting a little and unnecessarily?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland