With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Pump it up, chickens!, and BlogHer non-buyer's remorse.

2008-07-16 - 11:22 a.m.

You guys, I just tried the electric breast pump my sister in-law lent me. It was my first time using it and I only pumped for a few minutes but seriously, I got 5 ounces of milk! No wonder Biscuit seems to get full pretty quickly and is chunking up so nicely. I can suddenly envision a time when I can skip out the door, gym bag slung over my arm, and breezily call out to my husband, �Going to work out! There�s a bottle of milk in the fridge! Back in a couple of hours!�

Is it sick or admirable that my primary fantasy of escaping the house includes going to the gym?

----------------

Written a couple of hours later� Yes, he�s willing to drink from a bottle. Hallelujah!

You should see the utterly confused look on his face though. Hilarious.

----------------

Today my mother is getting chickens. Real, live, clucking, egg-laying chickens. While I grew up on a small hobby farm and am kind of jaded at the thought of live poultry, J and his dad (the latter of whom lives with my mom, for those that are new here � yes, my mom and my husband�s dad are together and have been for about a year and a half: it�s okay, we were together first, so I did not marry my step-brother) are super-excited. They�ve both, in fact, made sure they weren�t working today and they�ve hatched the plan (pun intended) to take Grommet out of daycare early, bring her out to see the chickens, and have a BBQ for an early dinner before J goes to hockey. I definitely have to bring my camera for this big event. There may even be pictures posted if I get any good ones.

----------------

I am suddenly more regretful of not going to BlogHer this year. If you added Sars from Tomato Nation to Weetabix�s list of people she�s planning to hang with there, you�d pretty much have the original list of bloggers I read way back in the day, before the word �blog� was even invented and we all wrote "journals" (i.e., the divine Ms. Bix, Sundry, MoPie, and Jenfu. (MoPie.com and Jenfu.com are both gone now, more�s the pity, but at least MoPie is still writing online.)

These are the ladies that inspired me to start this journal almost 5 years ago, and it would have been an awesome blast from the past to crash that gathering. Or maybe at least photograph it from afar, all stalkerish-like.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland