With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

3 1/2 weeks.

2008-06-28 - 12:32 p.m.

Biscuit is now 3 � weeks old and has gained almost a pound a week for the last two weeks � given that he dropped a little initially (like all babies do), he now weighs over 9 lbs. This isn�t that surprising when you take into consideration that he probably eats every couple of hours during the day. I�ve taken to calling him �Butter Pat� and �Butterbean�. The only trouble he�s caused us is when he has gas pains in the late evening or during the night. It means we lose a little sleep from time to time, but overall he�s a relatively easy baby so far.

I might not have mentioned it, but within a week of coming home he slept for 6 hours straight one night, which I think is officially �through the night�. Do you hate me now? If so, consider this: Grommet was well over a year old before she slept that long at one stretch. And I have my suspicions that this was a rare event and not likely to be repeated soon or often.

Plans for our Canada Day �Open house� (thanks Pamela, for the suggested description) continue apace. A lot of people have plans already, plus it�s supposed to rain and the big draw to come here is the pool, but I don�t mind if it�s a small gathering.

Can I just talk about my boobs here for a minute? Biscuit is a good nurser, but the fact that he does eat so often is taking its own toll of a sort. My boobs, aside from being sore and having nips that are probably distended permanently, are always hot. Is this normal? Is it just because they�re always healing from his latest enthusiastic onslaught? Is it because they�re constantly generating milk and the biological process generates heat? Is there a problem with the latch and I�m sustaining more discomfort and pain than I should? Or am I the only one that experiences this? I can tell you right now that my milk let-down stings and I can�t blame the Biscuit for this � just like last time I have simultaneous let-down on both sides and that means both sides sting, even the one that�s not being nursed on at the time.

Also, to try to keep the discomfort down, I�m trying to stop sessions once I�m reasonably certain that Biscuit is no longer nursing for food and has slipped into nursing for comfort only. I don�t mind some nursing for comfort if I know my kid�s distressed about something, but I draw the line at fostering the habit of treating my boobs like chew-toys. Any other ideas?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland