With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Week 34 1/2 and buying for a teenager.

2008-05-05 - 4:34 p.m.

I know that this subject is getting old, but I really cannot understand why, even when I feel perfectly comfortable eating a normal-sized dinner and not at all over-full when I go to bed, I keep getting woken up at 2:00 am by the sensation of vomiting into the back of my throat. Bleargh!

I try to quell the burning by making a ramp of pillows to prop myself up slightly, and it eventually subsides, but this heartburn totally sucks.

Hey, something else that�s happened both pregnancies but was so minor I forgot to chronicle it last time and, in fact, forgot about until recently when it recurred: I get small twinges of pain in my knees towards the end of my pregnancies. This isn�t because of the increased weight or swelling or anything; it�s because of constantly having to swivel them outwards to get them out of the way when I try to get up from/get down to the floor or bend over all the way to pick stuff up. And may I just say that I may be clumsy naturally, but I don�t think I ever have dropped so many things in such a short a time span as I have this last month. I blame the hormones.

In terms of navel-gazing, my belly button is currently a half-innie/half-outie, for those keeping score at home. It�s kind of like it�s a shallow innie that�s got a little round shelf or beak at the top. I�m not sure it�ll pop out more, but I�ll keep you posted.

::

Something not pregnancy-related at all (gasp!): it�s my youngest brother�s 16th birthday today! When my other brother turned 16 two years ago he was all about getting a license and learning to drive and getting a car so it was an easy gift to pick for him � I got him a first-aid and emergency kit for the car he was getting. (Don�t get me started on the fact that my father is providing cars to my brothers, yet when I was a teenager, like, 20 years ago, got nothing of the sort.) This brother, however, has not been so vocal in his yearning for the open road and I don�t know what the deal will be in terms of what he�ll drive or when he�ll get it. So, I�m thinking that I need to get him something else. He�s always a hard kid to buy for, but my stepmother surprised me with the information that apparently he�s been into making stirfries lately, so I might go with an Asian cooking theme. Doesn�t every 16 year-old boy want Thai curry sauce for his birthday? Or is this the worst idea of all time? You have any better ideas?

Personally, I�m just loving the fact that he actually has an interest outside of videogames and hanging out with his friends for the first time in a long time, and I totally want to encourage this sort of thing.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland