With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Preparing for baby #2.

2008-04-23 - 9:39 a.m.

I am contemplating a couple of purchases within the not-too-distant future, and one of these is a camcorder of some sort. Our regular point-�n-shoot camera will record snippets of video and we�ve used this feature a couple of times to capture some very precious moments. I wonder if we�re not missing out by not keeping more of these times for posterity? Grommet still makes the most adorable chuckle when she�s handed something she really likes, but who knows how long that will last? Already gone unrecorded was the phase where she couldn�t say �uncle� so Bob was �Apple Bob�. Will we wish that we had more footage of these sorts of things later on? Will we wish we�d caught the action of the first time Biscuit dipped his toes in the pool or tasted a pickle? Or do we risk morphing into those parents that kids remember as kind of Locutus-like, i.e., one eye seemingly permanently replaced by a camera lens?

Another thing I�m seriously thinking about getting is a Safety Turtle. Our first summer with the pool is on the verge of starting, and I get concerned about Grommet and her love for it. She�s definitely drawn to the water, even if she hates getting her face wet. Obviously we have no intention of leaving her unsupervised in the backyard, even when she�s on the none-pool side of the fence that divides it, but I think I just might feel better to have a back-up system in place nonetheless. I�m a great one for intense concentration, but I am absolutely lousy at multi-tasking, so I often lack those back-of-the-head, extra set of eyes a lot of moms seem to have.

Can anyone tell me though, why the base and wrist-band cost $199 at Canadian Tire but $267 direct from the company that makes them? I would have thought it�d be cheaper to eliminate the middle-man.

And last-but-not-least, I�ve got to start thinking about purchases for the Biscuit. I think I�m pretty good for clothes and for things like receiving blankets, though I want a fresh pack or two of washcloths since the ones we have are pretty stained at this point. I�m keeping an eye on the local classifieds for a Bumbo chair and tray because Grommet has always gotten a huge kick out of them whenever we�ve been visiting a place that had one, but I think their price new is a bit outrageous. I�ve bought a lovely sage-and-black Moby D wrap (though I also love the blue-and-black one and may yet exchange it) to allow my hands to be free more than they were with Grommet (whom I spent, literally, hours just holding on the couch when it was just the two of us in the early days). And I�ve picked up another nursing bra and nursing T-shirt, since I found that I really could have used another of each last time.

I�m also considering getting a decent battery-operated pump and giving Biscuit a bottle on a regular basis once good breast-feeding has been established. This would mean that Grommet and J could be at least a little involved in feeding the new baby, and could free me up to drool into a pillow have some �me� time from time-to-time.

My biggest concern involves sleeping arrangements. Last time I just camped on the couch downstairs, with Grommet in a cradle beside me. This worked okay since it meant not having to go up and down the stairs a lot with a fresh c-section, J could get some sleep at night, and I had the back support to nurse right there when I swung my legs down, as opposed to being in a bed and having to sit up and then shuffle painfully to a chair. But it turned out that Grommet slept a lot better when she slept with me, and I liked having her there to nurse right in bed, so we ended up co-sleeping back in bed after a couple of weeks.

This time, however, I also have to take the night-time needs of my toddler into account, and she�s gotten really good about sleeping in her own bed at night, but likes to know that her dad and/or I are still �right down the hall� once she�s gone to bed. Sleeping downstairs � which would put me conveniently on the same level as the kitchen � probably won�t be as feasible this time. Besides, Grommet may sleep on her own at night but she and I both really love starting our day with her coming into the �big bed� for a cuddle and perhaps a bit of an extra snooze if she gets there early. Unfortunately, �her� space is the one that a co-sleeping baby would occupy, and besides, there�s just not room for all four of us in the bed. I�m keeping my eyes peeled for an Arm�s Reach Co-sleeper (kind of like a side-car for your bed), but they�re very expensive new, plus hard to come by in Canada. I don�t think there�s a single place that even sells them in Ottawa. I may have a line on a second-hand one, so fingers crossed that that pans out (no hard feelings though if it doesn�t � you know who you are).

What am I missing? I�ll have to resurrect my Excel spreadsheet that listed everything I bought last time to see if I�ve got any gaps or things that I left off, and if I can improve on it. Let me know if you think of anything I should add now that I�ve already got a child who will need my attention too.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland