With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The weighting game.

2008-03-26 - 4:56 p.m.

According to the scale at my gym, I�ve gained 20 � pounds so far this pregnancy. Since I�ll be 29 weeks the day after tomorrow, I think that�s pretty good, and less than I�d gained at this point in my pregnancy last time (though not far off). By the third trimester last time I was on a perfect track to gain the max recommended 35 lbs by the end of 40 weeks, if I gained the projected 1-pound-a-week until the end. (Quick math: this means that I�d gained 24 lbs by this point last time.)

Now, this weight-gain arc was seriously thrown when I got the first symptoms of pre-eclampsia and blew up like a balloon, gaining 9 lbs within a week, simultaneously losing my ability to wear my shoes, my watch, and my wedding ring. It all evened out after that initial swelling though, and I think I plateaued and ended up gaining the 35 lbs in the end.

Now here�s the �bad� news: according to this particular scale, I�ve not actually had much of a net gain in my weight to speak of in the last 4 weeks. When I was sick I actually lost a couple of pounds, and have since gained them back. At any other time in my life I�d be thrilled to lose a couple of pounds. �Sure, I was sick as a dog for a couple of weeks,� I�d think, �but at least I lost some weight! Woo hoo!� Now that I�m supposed to be gaining weight, it�s not panic-inducing to not do so for a couple of weeks, but it�s not looked upon with the same elation. To my credit though, even though I couldn�t taste anything and wasn�t generally hungry, I made sure I at least ate something three times a day and that the �something� was usually healthy.

Oh well, I guess I�ll just have to force myself to eat more if my obstetrician raises it as a point of concern. And I can tell you right now that Ill be making an effort to drink more to try to combat my chronic dehydration tendencies. In the meantime, Biscuit is kicking up a storm several times a day, so I�m not too worried.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland