With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Thank God that cold's over with.

2008-03-17 - 2:59 p.m.

I�m finally back at work.

To some this may not sound like reason for celebrating, but since it means that I can now draw unrestricted breaths through both my nostrils most of the time, and my head no longer feels like a sack of wet cement, this is actually good news.

I have NEVER had a cold sand-bag me like this. I�ve missed two, maybe three days TOPS in a row before due to a cold, but this was a solid week and a half. It is not without a certain measure of bitterness that I recall the words of my previous boss the first time I got pregnant:

�And you�ll find that you just don�t get sick that much, even with people getting sick around you. It�s like your immunity gets a boost during pregnancy.�

Mind you, this is also the woman who told me that I wouldn�t feel cold during the winter while pregnant. Both of these statements are now always followed by a mental �HA!� whenever I think of them. In fact, I have since read that pregnant women are actually statistically more susceptible to catching the bugs going around, not less, and when we do catch something we can�t even take anything to mitigate our symptoms.

But this is all water under the bridge (or at least it soon will be I hope; I�m still slightly more mucous-y and tired than usual). It�s time to focus on the next thing to complain about, namely, the fact that J has a conference out of town for the next 3 days. It�s a good thing this didn�t happen last week, or I would have been pretty screwed, but I�m still not really looking forward to doing the solo-parenting thing for a few days.

Back in my younger, single, and obviously more na�ve days, I actually declared that if I couldn�t find someone with whom I wanted to raise kids by the time my early 30s rolled around, well, I wouldn�t wait until it was too late to have them. And I still believe I would have followed through on this, since I wouldn�t have known any better. And I even believe I would have gotten by, like many do, and not known how much easier life would have been with a partner to share the load with. What I can state now with dead certainty, however, is that, having had such a partner around for these early years of child-rearing, I would have been choosing a much, much harder road for myself. My mind boggles when contemplating these early years of Grommet�s life without J in the picture, and my already-healthy respect for single parents has soared to gargantuan proportions. I may have some hidden wellspring of fortitude that I would have tapped into, but I am so, so grateful that I don�t have to do so.

Even thinking of the next few days are a bit daunting, and that�s with Grommet in daycare for the daytime and Uncle Bob picking her up for me in the evenings since I don�t get home from work on time to do so. I suspect this is partly because I�m finding myself a bit more easily worn out these days: I�m slightly shorter on patience and definitely have more of a �poor me� thing going on when I�m forced to do a lot of bending and lifting, which are hard to avoid with a toddler in the house. My guts, in short, are feeling more easily squished than is comfortable. I can�t believe I have 2 � months to go, and that this wee boy will probably still triple in size between now and birth. From the outside I guess I�m not that huge and I�ve still got room to grow, but from the inside I definitely feel like there�s not a lot more room for expansion without impinging on vital functions, like being able to breathe and eat for example.

I SO have to start taking some belly pictures!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland