With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

We've set a date!

2008-03-08 - 11:41 a.m.

We have a date! The Biscuit is scheduled to arrive by c-section on the morning on June the 3rd! This is not a guarantee that circumstances won�t force our hand any earlier (Grommet was a full two weeks early because of complications, after all, and this date is only a week and a half before my natural due date), but at the very latest he�ll be here June 3rd.

How exciting is that?

You�ll note, perhaps, that today is March 8th? (And still snowing to beat the band, I might add.) This means we�ll have our little boy in less than three months! It�s kind of bizarre to think about, really, especially since we�ll be getting into the throes of the hot weather by then, and it�s not that far away, yet we�re expecting a total of about half a meter of snow this weekend. For those that aren�t metric, that is an ton of snow.

On less cheerful fronts, the entire family has been struck down by some kind of bug and, because of my pregnancy, poor J has had the majority of the burden fall on him, despite the fact that he too is sick. Mine started with a burning sensation in my lungs a few days ago and it�s crept upwards and become a full-blown head cold at this point. Grommet, poor thing, has a fever and has been up frequently throughout the night. She�s thrown up a few times too, the first of which was a spectacular blowout right after J took her to breakfast yesterday, which necessitated a full-scale cleanup of her car seat, snow suit, etc. On the plus side we administered some children�s Tylenol about an hour ago and she�s perked up quite a bit, to the point that she�s now cheerfully munching on some Cheerios mixed with a little milk. Yes, I know milk isn�t the easiest thing to digest, but we only put in just enough one percent (she normally gets organic whole milk) to wet the cereal down and she�s really enjoying it.

I even got a substitute to teach my class this morning, so you know I�m feeling pretty yucky.

One thing about this cold is that I haven�t really been up to eating much for the last couple of days: every time I eat even close to a normal portion and then lie down, the food tries to crawl back up my esophagus, which, as I�m sure you can imagine, is kind of uncomfortable. This is kind of a double-edged sword � it means that I�m less tempted to overindulge and cram everything I see into my gaping maw, so I�m less likely to totally blow my weight-limit goal for this pregnancy. On the other hand, I worry about not taking in enough food � particularly the right kind of food � to keep the Biscuit thriving. When I�m sick I�m all about the comfort food and for me that means things like apple juice, toast, tea, pumpkin chocolate chip muffins� you know, liquids and carbs. I�m not really in the mood for the proteins and veggies. Mind you, I�m also less tempted to eat true junk food, since I can�t taste it anyway.

Anyway, this entry probably reflects my bug-like attention span when I�m sick, so I�m going to get while the getting�s good�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland