With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I just want to be warm for a few days; is that too much to ask?

2007-12-03 - 3:07 p.m.

I am sucking at this vacation-planning stuff. J told me to just decide on something and book it. I suggested going for a short trip somewhere warm like Florida, and maybe doing a long weekend in Wisconsin to go to Weetabix�s mini-con. He replied that he�d rather do a longer stay somewhere warm, and didn�t get why I was annoyed after he told me to make the decision than told me he didn�t agree with my preference.

I then sent him a link to a place in Florida suggested by one of Sundry�s readers. He emailed back that it looked great, and by the way, he�d heard that if one chose to go to Florida in January, one would be well-advised to go as far south as possible� which this place isn�t seeing as how it�s about smack-dab halfway down the coast. Grr!

I�ve wasted hours today trying to find a decent place that�s more south in Florida, preferably on the west side, isn�t difficult or too lengthy to get to by car from Tampa, and doesn�t cost a ridiculous amount of money. I figure, if I can get a fantastic place in Hawaii for $160 a night, there�s no way I�m paying more than that � and little chance I�ll pay as much as that � in Florida. I�m on the verge of telling J that I�ll book the tickets but that it�s up to him to book the place and washing my hands of it�

Unless any of you are in-the-know about Florida? Or maybe know someone who has the inside scoop on a good place to stay in southwest Florida? Seriously, it�s times like this that I really need access to a mega-readership to answer this stuff, so put your thinking/networking caps on for me.

::

Today is a snow day. I bet you thought that only kids got those, eh? Not so. I waited in vain waited for the bus � which is supposed to come every 10-15 mins � for over 45 minutes and then figured that I was already too late to make it to my dentist appointment, and my boss is very supportive of my not braving nasty conditions to make it to work, so I decided just to stay here. I left a message saying I�d try to work from home, but that Grommet and J were home so if it turned out to be too distracting to get anything done I�d use up one of the family-related days I�m allowed every year. I have to confess I haven�t gotten a whole lot done, despite J�s best efforts to give me some space. First Grommet wanted Mama and Mama only this morning, and then I volunteered to keep an eye on her while J snowblowered (snowblew?) out the driveway, and then I got caught up in this whole vacation-planning stuff and wasted a ton of frustrating time.

It�s still snowing to beat the band out there. I hope it�s better by tomorrow �cause I�m looking forward to the IPS ultrasound and have no intention of missing it, and it�s scheduled for tomorrow afternoon.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland