With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Hair today, gone tomorrow.

2007-11-16 - 9:28 a.m.

My hair must know it�s in jeopardy; it�s behaving itself rather well today. I�ve noticed it tends to do that when I�ve scheduled a haircut, which I have for this afternoon.

Normally I cut my own hair. (That�s right: if you met me this past summer, and you know who you are, that haircut I was sporting was one of mine.) Partly �cause I�m cheap, partly �cause I�m not someone who worried excessively about their hair and figure it�ll grow back even if I mess up, and partly �cause, frankly, the ratio of good cuts to mediocre cuts from a professional seems to be about the same as I achieve, and I resent the mediocre cuts less if I didn�t pay for it and love the smug feeling I get when I give myself a really good, flattering cut.

I�ve explained my approach to cutting my own hair before (which is the same way I cook, and what the focus of the entry in that link is), and the summary is, I have a vision of the end product and I cut hair away until what�s left matches that vision. I guess it�s kind of like how some sculptors �see� the sculpture in the stone before they start and then they just liberate that sculpture from its confines (only this is less lofty as it�s just my hair).

I�m always puzzled by the number of people who call me �brave� for cutting my own hair. It�s only brave if it scares you and I just don�t see what the big deal is.

So why am I getting my hair cut for me if I take all this pride in cutting my own hair, yadda, yadda? Because I have a gift certificate and I don�t want it to go to waste. I�m often terrible about using those things up before they expire, so I was determined to use this one. It is for one of my favourite upscale salons. I figure it�s good for two haircuts and it expires next May, so I�d better get the first one soon because who knows how long it�ll take me to get there again? Well, it�ll have to be before May. Besides, since I�m due in June it�ll probably be nice to have some pampering in the spring. But there�s little chance I�d want to have two cuts close together so I figured I�d get the first one now.

Wish me luck.

------------------------------

Hey, 10 weeks today! That means I�m now carrying a fetus instead of an embryo, and most of the Biscuit�s major systems are in place!

In other, not-so-great news, the obstetrician I was supposed to be referred to doesn�t have any space left for June due dates. My family doctor thought it would be too early at my last appointment, but by this recent appointment it was apparently too late! Grr.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland