With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Doc results and meatloaf.

2007-11-14 - 11:16 a.m.

Okay, yesterday�s prenatal appointment? Took. For. Ev. Er. And I wasn�t mentally prepared for it at all, because a) my doctor is the world�s best at getting me in and out on time and b) last time I got to this stage I was seeing a midwife so I had the long appointment there I guess, and thought that it was long because I was a new patient and not because the stage I was at dictated a long appointment no matter which doctor I was seeing.

As usual, she started the appointment right on time (I know! A doctor that almost always starts appointments on time? Unheard of!) but, unbeknownst to me, we had about a trillion forms to fill out (records for her, records for the Ministry of Health, referral documents for the obstetrician, and requisitions for IPS tests) AND the pelvic exam I got last time for all the swabs didn�t, in fact, mean I�d had the full prenatal physical so there was all that to get through as well, plus any questions I had and information for me that I didn�t necessarily know I needed. I had to give her my due date at least half a dozen times for different forms. We went over the results of my tests (all good except my hematocrit was a bit low, but I was told not to worry about it) and my medical history, as well as some general information on J. I was with her for a full hour instead of the � hour I�d been scheduled for, and I can�t imagine how much an appointment like that would have cost without universal heathcare.

All this made me a full 20 minutes late for lunch with my father, but he was surprisingly understanding about it since it was for a prenatal visit and out of my control. We toasted to �the new baby� with cranberry juice and soda, and he treated me to a decadent lunch of Thai red curry shrimp with jasmine rice and wilted pea shoot salad, and half a serving of fresh-baked apple cobbler with a maple pecan crust. I didn�t mind paying a few bucks to park downtown in order to be treated to a meal like that!

Speaking of food, I tried my hand at meatloaf for the first time a couple of nights ago. I scanned a few recipes and mentally selected ingredients, then cobbled it together. The theory was that Grommet doesn�t like vegetables, but loves sausage, so she�d eat this in which I�d hidden some veggies. The down side was that she didn�t like it. Like, at all. On the plus side, I loved it. More than I�ve ever enjoyed any other meatloaf. Unfortunately, while I know what I put in, I have no idea what the quantities were since I just put a dash of this, a shake of that, and a squirt of the other thing.

If you�re interested, and culinarily inclined so you know roughly what would be enough but not too much of various things, here�s my list of ingredients, with the few proportions I know:
1 omega-enriched egg
worcestershire sauce
� lb ground beef (roughly, may have been 3/4)
� large carrot, grated
� med zucchini, grated
� med onion, diced
clove garlic, minced
Italian parsley, fresh, chopped, about a good handful
breadcrumbs (and can I just add that I've never bought breadcrumbs in my life and had wondered what the heck they were used for?)
salt
pepper
oregano
basil
ketchup (good squirt)

I mixed it all together, threw it in a loaf pan (it only about � filled it), and put it in the oven for an hour. I started out at 350, then turned it down to 325 when I thought maybe it was too high, then worried it wasn�t cooking fast enough so turned it back up to just over 350. I started with foil on it then took it off for the last 10 minutes or so.

This combo made a nice, moist, tangy, slightly-falling-apart loaf.

Next time, in the interest of finding a combination that both Grommet and I like, I�m going to use either a mix of beef and pork or just pork, sub spinach in for the zucchini, maybe cut out the ketchup, and perhaps adjust the spices a bit so it�s more Italian-sausage-like (this will probably involved fennel seed and perhaps rosemary). I may also try a version similar to my original but with corn since Grommet likes that.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland