With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

BlogHer: a cure for infertility?

2007-10-16 - 10:39 a.m.

There�s a new angle they could exploit when advertising for next year�s conference: Tired of all those pesky drugs and costly ART interventions? Why don�t you come �just relax� at BlogHer?�

I don�t know if it�s something in the Chicago water, or maybe it�s the massive dose of pheromones produced by 800 women bloggers all in a room together, but Zoot, Marilyn and I are all pregnant and we�ve all had a history of fertility problems. Marilyn and I both, in fact, got pregnant without Clomid this round, which we�ve both always needed to conceive in the past. I also got word through my comments section (see that link to leave comments? Nice isn�t it? Go on, hit it and leave me some love!) that the lovely Pamela, who I also met at BlogHer, is �in the family way� as well.

Susan and Nancy, y�all�d better look out!

::

While not obsessed with them as I was last time, I confess that I spent a short time today perusing the odd �what�s happening now� pregnancy website. And so far, like last time, my mental tallying is going something like,
�You�re tired all the time.� Nope.
�You�re wondering how to combat the nausea of morning sickness.� Nuh-uh.
�Blame your increased metabolism and growing uterus for the fact that you�re running to the bathroom all the time.� Nyet.
�Your boobs are becoming sore and you may want to wear a light-support sports bra to bed� but don't worry, breast growth will slow within the next three weeks.� HAA HAAA HA!

Last time round? My boobs didn�t even require me to buy a new, bigger-sized bra until, like, the last couple of weeks, and that was only in anticipation of the increase that would come when the milk came in. Breast growth will slow? I freakin� hope not: it�s supposed to be one of the few side benefits of being knocked up and, even then, I missed out on it last time.

::

Are farts funny in your household? They are in mine. They didn�t used to be when I was with previous, more uptight boyfriends (while with my last boyfriend, I used to wake up if I farted in my sleep, fearful that I had been heard farting, oh my), but J�s a lot more relaxed and has, I think, a healthier attitude towards bodily functions.

The other night I was sitting in the glow of the computer monitor, Grommet on my lap, when I let an uncharacteristically stinky air biscuit fly. The Grom wrinkled her nose, waved her hand in the air, and proclaimed loudly, �Yucky!� I totally snorted trying not to laugh too loudly and wake J up.

I�d always thought it interesting that babies don�t seem to find poop stinky, so I guess maybe her olfactory sensibility is maturing? Is this a milestone I should be writing down in her neglected baby book? Hee!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland