With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I did it my way: redux.

2007-10-09 - 10:19 a.m.

I�m 35 today (and the 4-year anniversary of this journal was two days ago). While people have assured me that middle age starts at 40, I�m not sure I believe them. Two times 35 is 70, and while average life expectancy in Canada is in the high 70s, �middle age� is an age range, not a precise point, so surely it doesn�t start at exactly the middle?

35 is, then, in theory, a big year. A milestone. It�s also the age at which statistics related to pregnancy become significantly less rosy: harder to get pregnant and a higher risk of birth and genetic defects if you do get pregnant. Amniocentesis is often routinely offered to women who are pregnant at the 35-year (or higher) mark, presumably on the theory that the benefits statistically outweigh the risks at that point.

What does this have to do with me? Well, aside from the fact that we�ve been �trying� for awhile, yesterday I had a strong positive result on my home pregnancy test! And on a non-Clomid cycle! Go me! I don�t want to start being all happy yet though, given what happened last time. I went for a beta level this morning and will have the results this afternoon, whereupon I�m hoping some small optimistic yays can start issuing forth.

Unlike last time, the positive stripe on the HPT was a good, strong colour (last time it was only half as dark as the test stripe, despite being further along in the cycle � day 35 vs. day 32 this time). Also unlike last time, my basal body temperature chart has been more markedly biphasic and has stayed above the dangerous 98.0 degrees, whereas last time it kind of dipped a couple of times post-ovulation, and then plummeted on the day I miscarried. However, I�ve been kind of crampy for the last 12 hours or so, so I don�t want to get all carried away and would rather wait for my beta before pronouncing this one well-rooted. Yes, I realize that a good beta today doesn�t make me immune to miscarriage this go-round, but it�s better than a bad beta and it�s always good to have good news on your birthday, right? Tomorrow can take care of itself.

---------------

Edited (11:50, same day) to add: Beta 322 and progesterone 77!!! Both are apparently good since they look for the latter to be over 30 and it's early enough that the beta is reasonable, though harder to predict as to exactly what it "should" be.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland