With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Clomid cycle 2: Electric boogaloo.

2007-08-28 - 10:27 a.m.

It�s be a long time since I devoted an entire entry to my reproductive system and I know you�re all wildly curious so�

Day 28 My basal body temperature is still elevated and tomorrow I can take my first pregnancy test for this cycle. I know I would normally have been able to take it before then (a few days ago), but since I suspect I didn�t ovulate until day 19 or 20 and the First Response pregnancy tests are really only starting to detect pregnancy at 10 days post-ovulation*, I figure it wouldn�t be useful to take the first test before tomorrow. Plus, it�s not like I have a ton of privacy at my mother�s place so why start early? I mean, sure, I have the bathroom to myself in the morning if Sage is with J, but to tell J without being overheard or someone figuring out something�s up based on our acting all weird after I tell him, well, that�ll be hard. And I would like to wait at least a few days before saying anything, even to my mother.

This cycle has been different than the last one: I haven�t felt nauseous at all and I didn�t feel the ovulation cramping (mittleschmertz) that I normally do, and was absolutely walloped with last cycle when even sitting down made my pelvis ache for about � a day. I wonder if it�s because the follicles (did I mention there were 3? Oh, I did?) were on the right side this time. (In university I knew a woman who said she only got pelvic pain when she ovulated on one side, but not when she ovulated on the other. It�d be interesting to find out if that�s common.) Do I feel pregnant? No. But I did last cycle and wasn�t so I guess that doesn�t tell me anything.

So, fingers crossed for tomorrow!

----------------------------
* This is my reasoning, though it might be faulty: First Response detects, I believe, 65% of pregnancies 4 days before the woman�s expected period. This would mean day 24 of a 28 day cycle, in which ovulation took place on day 14, i.e. 10 days post-ovulation. I know from this site that implantation time generally takes between 6 to 12 days, with 84% of implantation taking place on days 8-10. So, playing the odds, if I�m right and I ovulated on day 19 and fertilization occurred, I have an 84% chance of implantation taking place by the 29th, and a 65% chance of finding out if that�s the case. In other word�s it�s pee-on-stick time tomorrow!
----------------------------
I can�t resist mentioning one non-ovary-related thing: house inspection today! Plus I pick up the cheque for the house we just sold!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland