With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Shorn.

2007-06-21 - 10:02 p.m.

Another milestone has been reached: I gave Grommet her first hair cut this past weekend. While I desperately need to post an updated photo, those who know her in the flesh might be remarking, �round about now, that she must be bald since she didn�t have a lot of hair to cut in the first place.

�Tis true, in a sense, but what she was developing were patches of longer, wispy hair, particularly behind her ears. You know those big pompoms of fur on the back legs of poodles? That�s what she was starting to remind me of. It goes along the same lines as preferring that pubescent boys shave off their downy proto-staches as soon as they start to grow in.

I�m not particularly sentimental about her hair so I snipped away. I�ve seen many little girls sporting odd chunks of hair because their parents didn�t want to cut a strand off their precious heads, but I honestly don�t think that uneven, mangy hair is any more feminine than a short, neat cut. The only exception I might make is if it was growing into a Mohawk, �cause a baby with a hawk? Awesome. Especially if you make it stick up.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland