With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

More daycare blues.

2007-02-28 - 8:23 p.m.

I have some bad, though not earth shattering, news: Grommet has been kicked out of daycare. It�s not because she was misbehaving, she just never adjusted well and, despite getting our hopes up with one really great day of no tears at all, the situation just got worse and worse and culminated in her getting so upset she started pulling her hair and banging her head up and down (though not on anything, thank goodness!)

J heard that and he was all, �That�s it, I�m going to get her!�

A trip to the doctor has confirmed that she hasn�t put any weight on at all in the last month (oh excuse me, she�s put on one one-hundredth of a kilo) and her lack of plumping-up was already enough of a concern after her one-year visit to have had this extra appointment scheduled. When we described what Grommet was like at daycare the doctor agreed it was time to get her out of there.

We don�t blame the daycare � the daycare provider is a loving, warm, extremely qualified woman � but it just wasn�t a good fit.

So what are we doing now?

Well, she was already only going three days a week. J has taken this week off to tend to her (he�s such a good dad) and I�ll take a day or two off next week too (I have 5 days I can use for this sort of thing before the end of March). But we�ve got to find someone soon. Anyone know someone with one or two crawlers in her care that wants to take on a third for three days a week and lives in Ottawa?

Anyone?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland