With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Back to the old drawing board.

2007-01-07 - 8:55 p.m.

Grommet is finally starting to get back into the swing of solids. Her appetite for her beloved sweet potatoes and chicken has come back and, after getting past that initial how-to-eat-them-without-triggering-her-gag-reflex problem, she�s become a Cheerio-eating machine. Actually, technically she�s a Nutrio-eating machine since Nutrios don�t have any wheat in them and Cheerios do, and the doctor told us �no wheat until she�s a year old�, but I just say Cheerio �cause, well, I find the name more cheerful and people know what I�m talking about. Anyway, she hoovers them up with gusto now. She also tucks in to the Mum Mum rice rusk cracker-like things. Yes, another non-wheat based crunching thing made especially for babies.

I have to say, Grommet has always been a fabulous baby but she�s been even more awesome since kicking that virus she had over Christmas. She�s been cheerful and affectionate and entertaining to be around. She wrinkles her nose when she�s trying to smile extra wide and will butt heads with me if I say �Gonk� to her. Good thing she�s so engaging, since we have our appointment at the fertility doctor tomorrow to look into getting her a sibling. We haven�t used any birth control since Grommet turned six months but since I haven�t started getting my cycle yet there hasn�t exactly been any great progress in that department, and since it�s been almost a year since she was born I figured it�s time to get that looked into. We�d really love to have a second one and would really prefer them to be less than two years apart (I turn 35 in just over nine months, after all) and, since it seems that my hormones don�t really allow that to happen naturally, we want to consult the reproductive endocrinologist earlier rather than later. I have a feeling he�s going to tell me to wean Grommet and wait to get my cycle back. I understand that nursing may be making it difficult for my hormones to get back on track but I�m concerned that they never will on their own, since they were kind of off track to begin with, hence the Clomid to conceive Grommet.

Some optimistic souls have tried to tell me that having one baby often �primes the pump� for conceiving another one quickly and without intervention. I�m not getting my hopes up on that one.

Truth be told, deep down I don�t think I�d be surprised if we don�t end up with another baby. I hope that doesn�t jinx us to write this, but it�s the truth. I haven�t gotten my cycle in so long it just feels like I never will. And the fact is, we don�t want a second so badly that I�d continue trying for years: I�ve always wanted to have my kids sooner rather than later and 35 is my cut-off year in my mind. So, we�ll see what Dr. Hubris has to say tomorrow and we�ll try for up to one year from now. Let�s hope we�re successful in that time, �cause I�d love to give Grommet some company and give her the chance to be the awesome big sister I know she�d be.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland