With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

My sister's wedding.

2006-10-16 - 9:35 p.m.

I know I usually write at least twice a week and I only managed it once last week; forgive me? My sister got married this past weekend so I had to get a bunch of stuff in a row last week to prepare for it. I was a bridesmaid, y�see.

Now, my sister did what I did when I got married; she just picked out the colours we were to wear and said we could wear anything in that colour. I told my bridesmaids to wear blue; she told hers to wear black and red. You think this would simplify things but in fact it made it more difficult for me and I hope that my bridesmaids didn�t have the same thoughts I did when they were looking for something to wear. You see, my sister has always had a flair for the dramatic and her dress was red with black trim. I knew that one of the bridesmaids was going to wear a kimono and another was going to have an old-fashioned movie usherette getup on. My brother was wearing a long black trench coat and Japanese sword, and my father was wearing his formal Scottish kilt to give the bride away. With almost everyone else in what amounted to costumes, I had to find something that was the same level of dressiness and differentness. In other words, I couldn�t just pick out a red and black dress or blouse and skirt, but I couldn�t go so overboard that I ended up topping the bride.

I went to a costume store but struck out. I went to at least 10 different retail stores � including one that specialized in goth clothes � but struck out. On Wednesday (yes, three days before the wedding) I walked into another costume store, but this one stocked theatrical costumes as well as Halloween ones. I hit pay dirt, big time, with The Perfect Outfit that included a long red skirt with black spider web patterns overlaying it (my sister is known for her fondness of spiders and they figured in the decorations at the wedding), a black velvet bustier, over-the-elbow satin gloves, and a shawl that had black velvet on one side and the skirt material on the other. Score!
Not my style but pretty darn good, if I do say so myself.

I have to say, my sister and I have had our differences over the years but hers was one of the best weddings I�ve ever been to. Fun and relaxed and refreshingly different. In addition to the unusual garb and theme, the decorations were very �her�, there was a cake tower filled with jello shots (of which my brother probably had far too many � every time I looked at him over the evening his mouth was getting redder and redder from the cherry flavoured shots), the cake itself was bright red with a skeletal bride and groom cake topper perched on the top, and her friends were really nice. Grommet was a hit as a junior bridesmaid in her little black and red dress. The music was awesome and a good time was had by all. I was sorry to have to pack it in early to take Grom back to the hotel.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland